Can you go to jail for a DWI in Texas?

Can you go to jail for a DWI in Texas

Everyone charged with DWI in Texas, even first-time offenders, faces a minimum of 6 months in jail. Texas DWI Penalties are severe. First-time DWI offenders face up to 1 year in jail, a $6,000.00 fine, court costs, a driver license suspension, and a permanent criminal conviction. Aggravating factors increase fine amounts and periods of incarceration. DWI offenders with multiple convictions face up to 10 years in prison. Learn more.

  • How long do you stay in jail for DWI in Texas?People arrested for DWI are typically released in 24 hours or less. The key component to release is a judge setting a bond. This bond amount allows a defendant to post bail, personally or through a bail bond company, to get out of jail. Learn more.
  • How many DUIs in Texas before you go to jail?Only minors under 21 years old can be charged with DUI in Texas, and there is no jail sentence possible as punishment. DUI is a Class C misdemeanor. DWI, conversely, carries up to a 1 year jail sentence for first-time offenders, depending on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Learn more.
  • How likely is jail time for a first DWI in Texas?People charged with DWI go to jail every day in Texas. The likelihood of avoiding a final conviction and a jail sentence depends entirely on the type of defense that is put forward. A weak and unorganized defense can yield a bad result. On the other hand, you can beat a DWI in Texas and avoid some of the nation’s most serious consequences for first-time offenders. Learn more.

New Texas DWI laws

With the passage of House Bill 3582, the Texas Legislature has made Deferred Adjudication a possibility for first-time DWI offenders. Recipients of Deferred Adjudication are able to avoid incarceration and a final conviction. Once Community Supervision is successfully completed, the DWI charge is dismissed by the court. In many cases, the criminal charge and arrest records may later be sealed through an Order of Nondisclosure. Learn more.

  • Can a first DWI in Texas be dismissed?DWI charges are dismissed every day in courtrooms across Texas. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests. The entire charge is therefore based on the subjective decision for probable by one officer. Police officers make mistakes, and these mistakes can be seized on. If a judge finds the arrest to be lacking probable cause, the State is forced to dismiss the case outright. 
  • What to do if you get a DWI in Texas?Many people charged with DWI have never been charged with a criminal offense. The question of “what happens” after a DWI arrest in Texas in common. The first and most critical thing to do after a DWI arrest in Texas is to hire counsel. Time is of the essence, and hiring the best DWI lawyer for your case can make all the difference in the world. Learn more.
  • What is the penalty for 5th DWI in Texas?Everyone facing a DWI 5th charge will go to jail in Texas unless the charge is dismissed. In Texas, Driving While Intoxicated charges jump from misdemeanor to felony after two convictions. All DWI 3rd or more charges are categorized as felonies that can include prison incarceration as punishment, and mandatory jail time even when probation is granted. Learn more. 

Texas DWI Statute 

The Texas DWI statute is found in Section. 49.04. of the Texas Penal Code, and states:

  • DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.
  • (b)  Except as provided by Subsections (c) and (d) and Section 49.09, an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of 72 hours.
  • (c)  If it is shown on the trial of an offense under this section that at the time of the offense the person operating the motor vehicle had an open container of alcohol in the person’s immediate possession, the offense is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of six days.
  • (d)  If it is shown on the trial of an offense under this section that an analysis of a specimen of the person’s blood, breath, or urine showed an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or more at the time the analysis was performed, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.

Is jail required for DWI in Texas? 

All Texans charged with DWI first-offense, DWI .15+, DWI 2nd, or felony DWI 3rd or more face jail time. However, for first-time offenders, jail is not a requirement of punishment or probation. Learn more.

  • How long is probation for DWI in Texas?DWI probation can last up to 2 years for misdemeanor charges and up to 10 years for those convicted of felony DWI. Learn more.
  • What happens if you deny a breathalyzer in Texas?If you refuse to provide a breath specimen while under investigation for DWI or DUI, law enforcement officers can obtain a search warrant to draw and test your blood.
  • Can you lose your license for DWI in Texas?In addition to a potential blood draw, refusing a breath specimen also violates the Texas Implied Consent Law and results in an automatic driver license suspension. However, a breath specimen over the legal limit also results in a suspension. Learn more.

    Texans with a suspended driver license may obtain a temporary license, called a Texas Occupational License, to drive legally during a period of suspension. Learn more.
  • Can you get fired for a DWI in Texas?There is no law that requires an employer to fire an individual when charged with DWI. However, many businesses have reporting requirements that mandate the employee disclose being arrested and charged. DWI charges do show up on background checks in Texas, even while pending. Learn more. 

Trey Porter nationally recognized as Best Lawyer for DWI Defense

Trey Porter has been recognized nationally as a Top 40 Under 40 Criminal Defense Lawyer. He has been nominated as a Best Lawyer every year since 2015 by his peers in the areas of Criminal and DWI Defense. Mr. Porter has also been recognized as a Best Lawyer for DWI and DUI by Three Best Rated, and holds a 10.0 Superb rating from AVVO, where attorneys are rated on skillful litigation, client satisfaction, peer endorsements, and positive results. Learn more. 

Resources & information

Frequently asked questions

Glowing Client Reviews

Trey is the man! I hired him because I had overheard a county court judge mentioning how awesome of an attorney he is, so if an endorsement from a judge won’t convince you then I’m not sure what will. I sure do hope I never find myself in a pickle ever again but if I do, I would hire Trey in a heartbeat. He’s honest, transparent, doesn’t beat around the bush, and will work tirelessly so that your clean record stays clean and unblemished. 5 stars, highly recommend!

Joey

I recently hired Trey Porter Law to help our teenage daughter with a drug charge. In the state of Texas she was being charged as an adult which carried a much stiffer penalty. Trey is very responsive, helpful, knowledgeable and is always available to answer any questions or concerns via phone, text or email. He was able to negotiate on her behalf so it was a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend Trey Porter Law.

Wendy

Trey really helped me out. He was straight forward and professional, and really helped me in my case. I thought i was going to lose my job, but trey did everything in his power to help me keep my way of life, and still keeps up with me any details on my case.

I really appreciated all he did for me.

Juan

Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to help his clients.

He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately! I had faith in him and he continued to prove his expertise by helping me. I highly recommend Trey Porter!!

Binda

Trey Porter fought for me! I am a nurse and thought my career was over.

Very thankful I got Trey Porter involved. He responds to messages regularly and was very thorough.

He saved my career. Forever grateful!

Stevie

Mr Porter is the real deal. You get what you pay for these days. I know that from my personal business dealings. Attorney Trey Porter was no different.

He was prompt, professional and poised. I was charged with DWI, and Mr Porter got the charge dismissed. I could not be more pleased or thankful. If you get a DWI, hire the best — hire Trey Porter.

Alina

Read More Reviews

WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL

WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL

CHARGES DISMISSED

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15

Driving facts involved failing to maintain a single lane and speeding. Client refused breath test and forced law enforcement to obtain search warrant for blood. Blood test result was not used after challenge from Defense, and State waived and abandoned charge.

CHARGES DISMISSED

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Client was a college student, worried about the collateral consequences of an alcohol offense. After negotiation and review of the traffic stop, the case was dismissed. Client received no criminal conviction. The charge was later expunged and deleted from client’s record.

CHARGES DISMISSED

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15+

Client was involved in minor accident. Client was at fault in accident. A young executive, client was concerned that a criminal conviction for DWI would result in termination. After review of the traffic stop, it was clear the officer lacked probable cause for arrest. State eventually dismissed DWI charge. Client received no criminal conviction.

CHARGES DISMISSED

DWI 2nd

Client, a military veteran, was facing up to one year in jail. State could not prove intoxication by alcohol, and was prepared to proceed on loss of use by marijuana. After challenging the State to prove that marijuana was ingested at or near time of driving, and that marijuana impaired client’s driving, the State dismissed the case on the day of trial.

CHARGES DISMISSED

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Driving facts involved a false claim by police that taillight was out. After challenging the reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the State was forced to dismiss the case when video did not match police report. Client has since expunged arrest, and has no criminal record.

CHARGES DISMISSED

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Client is a public school teacher and faced immediate termination upon conviction. The facts of the case were bad. State was unwilling to budge in negotiation, and matter was set for trial – the last shot at avoiding a conviction and preserving client’s livelihood. State was forced to dismiss on day of trial. Client has no criminal record, and has since expunged the DWI arrest.

Contact Trey Porter Today

Request a free consultation

The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.

If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, the State is working on your conviction. It’s time to start building your defense.

Google Rating Avvo Rating