Woman in car interacting with person holding clipboard with vehicle document.

Category: Driver’s Licenses

Alcohol is available for in-store purchase beginning at 7 a.m. Monday through Saturday, and beginning at 10 a.m on Sundays....
An Occupational Driver License (ODL), also referred to as an essential need license, is a special type of restricted Texas Driver License issued during a period of suspension or revocation. An ODL authorizes a Texas driver to operate any non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with work, school, or other essential...

Yes, drivers can lose their CDL for DUI in Texas. DUI is a particularly severe offense for Texas CDL operators. A first offense can result in a 1-year CDL suspension, while a second DUI can result in a lifetime suspension of CDL driving privileges. Learn more. What is the CDL...

Driving While License Invalid (DWLI) is a criminal offense in Texas. Individuals operating a motor vehicle when their Driver's License is invalid, suspended, revoked, denied, or canceled can be stopped by law enforcement and cited or arrested for DWLI....
To obtain a Texas driver’s license, an applicant must be a United States citizen or have lawful immigration status, they must present proof of Texas residency, proof of identity, and evidence of vehicle registration including insurance for any vehicles they own....
To obtain a Texas driver’s license, an applicant must be a United States citizen or have lawful immigration status, they must present proof of Texas residency, proof of identity, and evidence of vehicle registration including insurance for any vehicles they own....

Yes, drivers can lose their CDL for DUI in Texas. DUI is a particularly severe offense for Texas CDL operators. A first offense can result in a 1-year CDL suspension, while a second DUI can result in a lifetime suspension of CDL driving privileges. Learn more. What is the CDL...

Let's Chat, Consult, and Conquer Together!

Your Legal Roadmap: Answering Your Questions

Question 1

Can I get a restricted or hardship license after a DWI/DUI?

An Occupational Driver License (ODL), also referred to as an essential need license, is a special type of restricted Texas Driver License issued during a period of suspension or revocation. An ODL authorizes a Texas driver to operate any non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with work, school, or other essential duties. Read more.
Question 2

How do I reinstate my driver's license after a DWI suspension in Texas?

The implied consent law in Texas is a law stating that individuals arrested for DWI related crimes have automatically consented to giving a blood or breath test. The law states that because such persons are deemed to have already consented, any subsequent withdrawal of consent results in driver’s license suspension. Read more.
Question 3

Can you lose your CDL for DUI in Texas?

Yes, drivers can lose their CDL for DUI in Texas. DUI is a particularly severe offense for Texas CDL operators. A first offense can result in a 1-year CDL suspension, while a second DUI can result in a lifetime suspension of CDL driving privileges. Read more.
Question 4

What is the Texas Implied Consent law?

The implied consent law in Texas is a law stating that individuals arrested for DWI related crimes have automatically consented to giving a blood or breath test. The law states that because such persons are deemed to have already consented, any subsequent withdrawal of consent results in driver’s license suspension. Read more.
Question 5

What is an ALR hearing in Texas?

An ALR hearing is an administrative hearing where a person can contest a driver’s license suspension following a DWI arrest. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) pursues a driver’s license suspension whenever a person refuses to provide a breath or blood sample during a DWI or DUI investigation in Texas. DPS also pursues a driver’s license suspension if a person provides a specimen of breath or blood over the legal limit of 0.08. Read more.
Question 6

What are the grounds for an ALR suspension?

ALR suspension is a driver’s license suspension resulting from a DWI arrest. If a person fails or refuses to give a breath or blood test DPS initiates suspension action against a person’s driving privileges. An ALR suspension goes into effect when a person does not contest the suspension or after an ALR hearing... Read more.
Testimonials

What our clients think about us

Unlock the Perks of Choosing Us!

 

Request
a free consultation

Contact Trey Porter Today

The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
Legal Insights Unveiled:
Your Path to Clarity

Results matter when life and livelihood are on the line. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests, and the State is legally bound to a burden of proving the charge beyond all reasonable doubt.

© 2024 Trey Porter | All Rights Reserved