San Antonio DWI Lawyer
Driving While Intoxicated is a serious criminal charge. If you are facing a DWI in San Antonio, even as a first offense, the stakes are high. Texas DWI laws are strict and carry severe penalties. DWI charges impact driving privileges, employment, and college admissions. Criminal charges can restrict the constitutional right to bear arms and travel. Everyone facing a DWI is facing jail time, from 6 months to years in prison for repeat offenders. Learn more.
- Can a DWI be dismissed in San Antonio? DWI charges can be dismissed by challenging the State’s evidence. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests. Officers must establish reasonable suspicion and probable cause in every case, every time, without exception. Learn more.
- What to do after getting a DWI in San Antonio? The first step to take after getting a DWI 1st charge in San Antonio is to contact a San Antonio DWI attorney. There are many law offices in San Antonio, very few have practice areas focused on intoxication offenses. Learn more.
- How do I find my court date in Bexar County? Court dates and other important case information are available on the Bexar County Clerk’s website.
WHAT HAPPENS ON YOUR FIRST DWI IN SAN ANTONIO?
After being arrested for DWI in Bexar County, everyone is transported to the Bexar County Jail in downtown San Antonio for processing and an eventual appearance before a magistrate judge. The magistrate judge sets a bond amount and other conditions of release.
This process is slow, impractical, and frustrating. After release, defendants are provided with a court date and information about property return. In San Antonio, it often takes 8-10 months from jail release before a DWI case is resolved.
- What to expect after a first-time arrest for DWI in Bexar County? Although the San Antonio DWI process is lengthy, there are fast-moving deadlines that require professional attention right away. There are only 15 days to file a legal request to contest the automatic driver’s license suspension. The contest is important, and should not be missed. Learn more.
- What happens on the first court date in Texas? The first court date, called the arraignment setting in Texas, is a short, formal court appearance where the judge ensures the defendant knows the charge(s) and is represented by counsel. Missing this court date can result in additional criminal charges. It is important to seek legal counsel ahead of these early dates and deadlines. Learn more.
- How do you get out of a San Antonio DWI charge? Getting out of a DWI charge requires challenging the State’s evidence, applying relevant Texas law, and relentlessly looking for an opportunity to leverage a weakness or error into a defense advantage. Learn more.
Nothing is more important than protecting your freedom and future. Retaining the best San Antonio DWI lawyer puts you in the strongest position possible to obtain a dismissal or reduction. Learn more.
- Do I need a lawyer for DWI in San Antonio? You need a DWI lawyer to protect your rights. When you are facing criminal charges, your freedom, reputation, and future are on the line. Results matter. Experienced advocates are the foundation of a high-powered defense. Learn more
WHAT ARE CONSEQUENCES OF DWI IN SAN ANTONIO?
The penalties for DWI in Texas are severe, and San Antonio is no different. The Bexar County District Attorney’s Office seeks a conviction in every case, and does not dismiss charges for first-time offenders. Everyone facing a DWI charge is facing jail time. Learn more.
- What are San Antonio DWI Penalties? The consequences for a DWI charge in San Antonio are severe. First-time DWI offenders face up to 1 year in the Bexar County Jail, a $6,000.00 fine, court costs, a driver’s license suspension, and a permanent criminal conviction. Aggravating factors increase fine amounts and periods of incarceration. DWI offenders with multiple convictions face up to 10 years in prison.
- Is jail mandatory for a DWI in San Antonio? No. Jail is not mandatory for DWI. However, some factors, like an open container, for example, can lead the Bexar County District Attorney’s Office to enhance the charge. This can result in mandatory jail time. Learn more.
- Is a first DWI a felony in San Antonio? A first-time DWI charge is a misdemeanor offense, punishable by no more than 1 year in the Bexar County Jail. However, aggravating factors like serious bodily injury or the presence of a child passenger under 15 years old can result in felony charges. Learn more.
- Felony DWI charges in San Antonio Intoxication Assault and Intoxication Manslaughter are the most serious types of DWI cases. Intoxication assault is a felony charge with devastating, life-ruining consequences. Similarly, Intoxication Manslaughter is one of the most serious charges in the Texas Penal Code, with a punishment range of up to life in prison. Learn more.
HOW LIKELY IS JAIL TIME FOR FIRST DUI IN SAN ANTONIO?
First-time DWI charges in San Antonio can result in up to 1 year in jail or 2 years of probation. Everyone charged with DWI, even first-time offenders with no criminal history, face incarceration. The likelihood of jail is based on a number of factors, including the strength and experience of the defense. Learn more.
- Can a DWI be dismissed in San Antonio? DWI charges can be dismissed in San Antonio by challenging the State’s evidence: field sobriety tests, validation purposes, witness credibility, and other elements of probable cause at every level through a focused and dynamic defense. Learn more.
- Will I go to jail for first-time DUI San Antonio? You can be sentenced to jail for up to 12 months for a first-time DWI in San Antonio. First-time charges can be enhanced to felonies which have even higher punishment ranges. Building a powerful DWI defense is the best defense strategy for avoiding jail time when facing DWI charges. Learn more.
HOW CAN I BEAT A DWI IN SAN ANTONIO?
DWI charges can be beaten in Bexar county. Defendant’s must assert certain powerful constitutional rights, utilize due process to confront all witnesses, and challenge the evidence. This means disputing reasonable suspicion, probable cause, and all forensic evidence. Learn more.
- Can you get a DWI dismissed in San Antonio? Challenging evidence is the most effective way to dismiss a San Antonio DWI charge, whether it’s a DWI first-offense, DWI 2nd, or even a felony DWI 3rd. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests, therefore open to challenge. If a judge suppresses evidence, the State cannot use it to prosecute. Learn more.
- What are the chances of DWI dismissal in Bexar County? The chances of a DWI dismissal are tied directly to the strength of the defense. Dismissals are won through a powerful and relentless defense. Review and challenge all evidence, assert important constitutional rights, and do everything possible to avoid a final conviction. Learn more.
- How do I win a DWI case in San Antonio? Challenging the State’s evidence is the best way to win a DWI case. Skilled DWI lawyers will always review the breath test or blood test evidence, and all forensic analyses and breathalyzer evidence for error. Learn more.
- What can a good DUI lawyer do? A good DUI lawyer can get charges dismissed by identifying weaknesses in the State’s case. Prosecutors rely on police officers to prove their cases. A good DUI lawyer will request training records for all police officers in order to review field sobriety test certifications. Outdated training can impact validation purposes, which can negate probable cause for arrest. No probable cause results in a dismissed DUI charge. Learn more.
DWI FIRST OFFENSE IN SAN ANTONIO
DWI first is a misdemeanor offense in Texas. Everyone arrested for DWI in San Antonio will face prosecution for a Class A or B misdemeanor, depending on their blood alcohol concentration (BAC). A first-time DWI charge becomes a felony if young children were in the vehicle, or if there was an accident and someone was seriously injured. Learn more.
- What is the penalty for first-time DWI in San Antonio? A first-time DWI charge in San Antonio is a Class B misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $3,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 6 months. A conviction for this offense is permanent, and results in a Texas driver’s license suspension. Learn more.
- What is Texas DUI over .15? Texas law defines Driving While Intoxicated with an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 in Section 49.04 of the Texas Penal Code:
Sec. 49.04. DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED. (a) A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.
(d) If it is shown on the trial of an offense under this section that an analysis of a specimen of the person’s blood, breath, or urine showed an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or more at the time the analysis was performed, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor. Learn more.
- What are the chances of first-time DWI dismissal in San Antonio? DWI charges can be dismissed in Bexar county. A powerful, resourceful defense will look for inconsistencies in the case and force the District Attorneys to dismiss the charge. Challenging evidence is a critical part of obtaining a dismissal. Learn more.
HOW MUCH IS BOND FOR A SAN ANTONIO DWI FIRST CHARGE?
Judges routinely set bond amounts in the low thousands of dollars for misdemeanor DWI charges in San Antonio. The average time in the Bexar County Jail for a first-time DWI charge is 18-24 hours. Magistrate judges can also approve release through a personal recognizance (PR) bond.
- How much is bail for DWI in San Antonio? Bail for a DWI in San Antonio is typically a few hundred dollars. As the amount paid to a bond company is only a percentage of the overall bond. This is the first of many costs associated with the Texas DWI process. Judges have total discretion over bond amounts. Learn more.
- How to find an inmate in Bexar County Jail? To find someone arrested in San Antonio, use the Bexar County Jail Central Magistrate Search.
- What is Bexar County Jail in San Antonio phone contact information? The Bexar County Jail’s phone number is 210-335-6010.
- What is the San Antonio Police Department’s contact information? The San Antonio Police Department phone number is 210-207-7273. More phone numbers for SAPD are available on the SAPD website.
WHAT ARE PENALTIES FOR DWI 1ST IN SAN ANTONIO?
Penalties for DWI 1st in San Antonio include up to 365 days in the Bexar County Jail, restrictions on the constitutional rights to bear arms and travel, suspended driving privileges, required installation of ignition interlock devices in vehicles, thousands of dollars in fines, classes, drug testing, and the collateral consequences of a permanent criminal conviction. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for a Bexar County misdemeanor DWI? All first-time DWI charges in San Antonio are Class B misdemeanors, though they can be enhanced by certain factors. DWI first-time offenders face jail time, permanent criminal convictions, thousands of dollars in fines, and a driver’s license suspension. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for Class A DWI Charge in San Antonio? The maximum fine is $6,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 12 months. Class A misdemeanor DWI charges can result in incarceration, a permanent criminal conviction, thousands of dollars in fines, the temporary loss of some constitutional rights and a driver license suspension. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for DWI .15+ charge in San Antonio? DWI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or higher is a Class A misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $6,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 12 months. A conviction for this offense is permanent, and can result in thousands of dollars in fines, the loss of constitutional rights and a driver license suspension. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for Class B DWI charge in San Antonio? The penalty for Class B misdemeanor DWI in Texas is unbelievably harsh. The maximum fine is $3,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 6 months. A conviction for DWI is a permanent criminal conviction, and can result in the loss of constitutional rights, thousands of dollars in fines, and a driver’s license suspension. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for DWI Open Container in San Antonio? DWI with Open Container is a serious criminal charge in San Antonio. The Open Container enhancement triggers a 6 day minimum jail confinement by law. The maximum jail sentence for DWI Open Container is 12 months. In addition to the loss of driving privileges and some constitutional rights, fines, court costs, and other fees can exceed $10,000.00. Learn more about the cost of a DWI in Texas.
- What are the penalties for DWI with Child Passenger in Bexar County? DWI with Child Passenger is a State Jail Felony in Texas. The maximum fine is $10,000.00, and the maximum period of confinement is 24 months in a State Jail Facility. State Jail Facilities in Texas require sentences to be served day for day. In addition to a driver’s license suspension, a conviction for DWI with Child carries other life-altering collateral consequences associated with being a convicted felon. Learn more.
CAN DWI AFFECT PROFESSIONAL LICENSE?
DWI charges can negatively impact professional licenses. Some licensing boards, like the Texas Board of Nursing, have a mandatory reporting requirement for DWI convictions.
- Can a DUI be reduced in San Antonio? Yes, DWI charges in Bexar County can sometimes be reduced. Challenging and exposing weaknesses in the State’s evidence, while simultaneously highlighting the positive and unique attributes of an individual are important elements of reductions.
- Can you be a teacher with a DWI in Texas? Yes, you can be a teacher with a DWI in Texas. However, schools and school districts have strict and unique hiring and firing practices. A DWI conviction can be prohibitive when trying to get a job, and a DWI arrest can result in termination if you already have a job. Learn more.
- Does a DWI have to be reported to FINRA? Misdemeanor DWI charges do not have to be immediately reported to FINRA. Felony arrest and indictment requires disclosure. Learn more.
CAN YOU GET PROBATION FOR FIRST DWI IN SAN ANTONIO?
Yes. Every person charged with DWI in San Antonio is eligible to submit an application for community supervision. Even after losing a trial, a defendant may still receive probation instead of being sentenced to jail. Learn more.
- What is DWI Probation? DWI probation in San Antonio consists of being monitored by the Bexar County Community Supervision & Corrections Department.While probation terms can differ, DWI probation in San Antonio typically consists of reporting, drug testing, classes, counseling, alcohol device monitoring, and community supervision.
- Will I get probation for my first DUI? Probation is possible in all San Antonio DWI cases. Jail time is also possible. Putting forward a powerful, comprehensive defense can often be the difference in jail time or probation. Learn more.
- What is DWI Deferred Adjudication in San Antonio? The best probation outcome for DWI charges is DWI Deferred Adjudication. Deferred Adjudication is a legal way to avoid a criminal conviction and obtain a dismissal at the end of a successfully completed probation term. Learn more about DWI Deferred Adjudication in San Antonio here.
- Can you get Deferred Adjudication for DWI in San Antonio? Yes, deferred adjudication is a possibility in all DWI cases. There are a number of disqualifying factors, including criminal history and BAC. Learn more.
DWI 2ND OFFENSE IN SAN ANTONIO
The penalties for a second DWI offense (DWI-Repeat Offender) are severe. In San Antonio, a DWI second offense is a Class A Misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $6,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 12 months. A conviction for this offense is permanent, requires a 3-day sentence in the Bexar county jail (even if probation is granted), and results in a driver license suspension. Learn more.
- Can a DWI Second Offense be dismissed in San Antonio? DWI 2nd convictions and consequences can be avoided in Bexar County. No matter how extreme the facts of the case, it is important to build a powerful defense to protect your liberty and livelihood. An experienced, high-powered defense yields the best chance of obtaining a dismissal when facing DWI 2nd charges in San Antonio. Learn more.
- Can a DWI 2nd charge be reduced in San Antonio? Yes. Reducing a DWI 2nd to a DWI is a difficult task, however, and can only be done through plea bargaining. An aggressive defense strategy allows the defendant to negotiate from a position of strength. Learn more.
- What happens after your second DWI in San Antonio? A second DWI charge in San Antonio can result in jail time. The maximum jail time for a DWI 2nd is 1 year. In Bexar County, ignition interlock is a standard condition as a release from jail for repeat DWI offenders. The device(s) must be maintained the entire time the DWI 2nd charge is pending.
DWI 2nd charges also result in an automatic driver’s license suspension. An Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing must be requested in a timely way to prevent this suspension. Learn more.
It is difficult to manage these tasks alone. The first and most important step after release from jail is to retain the best DWI defense lawyer for your situation. An experienced legal team with a track record of success can make an enormous impact on your quality of life and the outcome of your case. Learn more.
IS JAIL TIME MANDATORY FOR 2ND DWI IN SAN ANTONIO?
Jail time is mandatory if convicted of DWI 2nd in Texas, even if probation is granted. A high-powered, aggressive defense is the best chance at obtaining a dismissal. No matter the facts of the case, a powerful defense increases the probability of a better outcome and avoidance of jail time. Learn more.
- Is a 2nd DWI a Felony in San Antonio? No. A second offense DWI is a misdemeanor in San Antonio. However, out-of-state DWI convictions, even if old, can be used to enhance a Second DWI charge in Texas to a felony. Learn more.
- How long can you go to jail for DWI second offense? If convicted of DWI 2nd, a person can be sentenced to a maximum of 12 months in the Bexar County Jail. Texas law requires a 3-day jail sentence even if probation is granted. Learn more.
- What is the average sentence for 2nd DUI? In San Antonio, the average sentence for 2nd DUI charges can range from months in jail up to 2 years on probation. Judges can also grant probation, while still requiring some jail time. Learn more.
- Can you get probation for DWI 2nd in San Antonio? Probation is possible for everyone charged with DWI 2nd in San Antonio. Community Supervision, commonly referred to as probation, is a far superior alternative to incarceration in a Bexar County Jail. Learn more.
DWI 3RD+ OFFENSE IN SAN ANTONIO
After two DWI convictions, a third DWI charge (habitual DWI) is a felony. The maximum fine is $10,000.00, and the maximum prison sentence is 10 years in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) penitentiary. A conviction for this offense is permanent, requires a 10-day jail sentence, even if probation is granted, and results in a driver’s license suspension, as well as other serious, collateral consequences that come with being a convicted felon. Learn more.
- Is a 3rd DWI charge a felony in San Antonio? Yes. A DWI 3rd or more charge is a felony. Even if a person received deferred adjudication for their first DWI, and was only convicted of a subsequent DWI, the third DWI charge will be classified as a felony. Learn more.
- Do convictions over 10 years old count for DWI 3rd? Yes. All prior convictions, no matter how old, may be used as the basis for enhancement.
- Do out-of-state convictions count for felony DWI in San Antonio? Yes. Out of state convictions are used by the Bexar County District Attorney’s Office as the basis for enhancing DWI charges from a misdemeanor to a felony.
- What are the penalties for Bexar County DWI 3rd in San Antonio? The penalties for a DWI 3rd conviction in San Antonio are devastating. In addition to attorney’s fees, court costs, and up to $10,000.00 in fines, a felony DWI conviction comes with a two-year driver’s license suspension and increased insurance rates. The lost wages from being incarcerated and classified as a convicted felon are staggering. Government benefit eligibility and other constitutional rights are all adversely affected by a felony DWI conviction. Learn more.
- Can you go to prison for felony DWI 3rd in San Antonio? Yes. The maximum prison sentence for a DWI 3rd is 10 years in Texas. A third (or more) DWI is classified as a Third Degree Felony. While first-time DWI offenders can seek some leniency, the penalties for a third offense reflect the severity of Texas law.A conviction for a third DWI can result in a prison sentence of no less than 2 years and no more than 10 years. Even if probation is granted, all defendants convicted of DWI 3rd or more in Texas are required to serve a minimum of ten days in jail as part of any plea agreement. This 10 day jail requirement cannot be waived or probated. Learn more.
- Can you get probation for DWI 3rd in San Antonio? Yes, it is possible to get probation for DWI 3rd in San Antonio. Prison time is also very possible. The facts of each case and the skill and strength of the defense can be ultimately determinative. In the event probation is granted, the 10 day jail sentence must still be served by law. Learn more.
IS YOUR LICENSE AUTOMATICALLY SUSPENDED AFTER A DUI IN SAN ANTONIO?
Yes, every person charged with DWI in Texas receives an automatic Administrative License Revocation (ALR) suspension of driving privileges. The suspension goes into effect approximately 40 days from the date of arrest.
Contesting the ALR by requesting a hearing is an important part of DWI defense, and should never be skipped over. Learn more.
- How do I get my license back after a DWI in San Antonio? If your license card is confiscated, you may request a new license through the Texas Department of Public Safety website. If your license is suspended, you may be eligible for an Occupational Driver License. Learn more.
- What is ALR hearing for San Antonio DWI? The ALR hearing is an early chance in the DWI process to review and contest the State’s evidence. The State has a low burden of proof in ALR hearings, making it relatively easy for them to win, and for a driver’s license suspension to be ordered. However, the ALR is an important part of an aggressive DWI defense.
- How long is your license suspended for a DWI in San Antonio? Driving privileges are suspended for 90 – 180 days after an arrest for DWI. Commercially licensed drivers face significantly longer periods of suspension. Learn more.
- Do you lose your CDL after a DWI in San Antonio? Yes, commercial drivers face serious, financially devastating consequences from just being arrested for DWI. CDL suspensions can range from 1 year to a lifetime ban. Learn more.
- Can you drive with a suspended license in Bexar county? No. It is illegal to drive with a suspended license in San Antonio. Driving with a suspended license while a DWI is pending can result in bond revocation, arrest warrant, and additional criminal charges. Drivers with a suspended license can obtain a temporary license through an attorney. Learn more.
WHAT IS THE AVERAGE COST OF A DWI IN SAN ANTONIO?
A DWI in San Antonio costs thousands of dollars at minimum. Being charged with DWI is expensive. Being convicted can be financially devastating. It’s impossible to put a price on avoiding incarceration and the potential of a permanent criminal conviction. Learn more.
- DWI in San Antonio first offense cost? The maximum fine for a first DWI offense in Bexar County is $6,000.00. Additional costs associated with bond conditions, legal fees, and probation add to the overall total. Avoiding the severe consequences of conviction and incarceration is incalculable. Learn more.
- How much does a good San Antonio DUI lawyer cost? Good lawyers are not cheap. Good lawyers focus on winning while effectively communicating with clients. With legal representation, as with so many things, you get what you pay for. Learn more.
- How much does the average DWI cost in San Antonio? DWI charges cost thousands of dollars on average. While the fine cannot exceed $10,000.00 for DWI in San Antonio, additional items associated with bond and probation add to the expense. Legal fees, while costly, can have an enormous return on investment. Learn more.
SAN ANTONIO DUI LAWYER
Driving Under the Influence is a Class C misdemeanor in San Antonio. DUI is only to minors under 21 years of age. The Texas Alcohol Beverage Code defines DUI in Section 106.041.
DRIVING OR OPERATING WATERCRAFT UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL BY MINOR. (a) A minor commits an offense if the minor operates a motor vehicle in a public place, or a watercraft, while having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor’s system.
- Can you avoid jail time for DUI in Bexar County? Yes, you can avoid jail for DUI in San Antonio. DUI is a Class C misdemeanor. DUI convictions can and should be avoided at all costs.Learn more.
- DUI vs DWI in San Antonio DUI and DWI are two different criminal offenses in Texas. DUI is a Class C misdemeanor, applicable only to minors. DWI is a higher and more serious offense, applicable to Texans of all ages. Learn more.
- What is DWI meaning? DWI stands for Driving While Intoxicated. The Texas Penal Code defines DWI in Section 49.04:
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED. (a) A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.
- What is DUI meaning? DUI stands for Driving Under the Influence. DUI is for minors only in Texas. Learn more.
DWI LAWYER SAN ANTONIO
Trey Porter is recognized as the best DWI/DUI lawyer in San Antonio. A Texas SuperLawyer, Mr. Porter has been distinguished as a dynamic advocate in Criminal Defense by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Voted by his peers as a best lawyer in the field of Criminal and DWI Defense every year since 2015, Mr. Porter holds a Superb rating from AVVO, where attorneys are rated based on skillful litigation, client satisfaction, peer endorsements, and positive results. Learn more
HOW LONG DOES DWI STAY ON YOUR RECORD?
DWI charges are permanent. DWI charges, even if ultimately dismissed, stay on the record forever. A San Antonio DWI charge that was dismissed in Bexar County court without probation, is likely eligible to be deleted through the legal process of expunction. Learn more.
- Can a DWI be expunged from the record? Dismissed DWI charges may be deleted through the legal process of expunction. Charges not eligible for expunction may still qualify for an order of nondisclosure, which has the effect of sealing the record. Learn more.
- How long does a DWI stay on your driving record? DWI charges stay on a person’s DPS driving history forever. In qualifying situations, the charge can be removed from the public record. Learn more.
WHAT BAC IS CONSIDERED DWI IN SAN ANTONIO?
The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in San Antonio is 0.08. Blood alcohol levels that exceed this amount are over the legal alcohol limit for driving a motor vehicle in Texas. Learn more.
- What BAC level is considered DUI in Texas? 0.1 is the legal limit for DUI in Texas. DUI only applies to minors in Texas. The legal alcohol limit for adults in Texas is 0.08. BAC is not required for DWI in Texas. Learn more.
BEST DWI LAWYER IN SAN ANTONIO | BEXAR COUNTY, TEXAS
Trey Porter Law is the highest rated DWI law firm in San Antonio. Representing San Antonians facing Intoxication & DUI charges in Bexar County, as well as the surrounding areas of Alamo Heights, Boerne, Fair Oaks Ranch, Fredericksburg, New Braunfels, Olmos Park, Seguin, Schertz, and Universal City.
With over 40 years of combined experience, Trey Porter Law has a track record of success standing up for the citizen accused in San Antonio. From students to teachers, veterans to first responders, and professionals across varied industries and disciplines, TPL brings a results-oriented & client-focused approach to solving complex problems.
BEXAR COUNTY COURTS IN SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS
All misdemeanor DWI cases are assigned to a Bexar County Court at Law. There are 15 total Bexar County Courts in San Antonio.
- What time does Bexar County Court Start? Court starts at different times depending on the presiding judge’s policies and docket. Calling the court directly or showing up at 8am is the safest course of action.
- How do I find out my court date in San Antonio? Court dates for civil matters like divorce and probate can be found on the Bexar County Odyssey Portal. Criminal court dates and information can be found on the Bexar County & District Clerk’s website.
- Where do I go for court in San Antonio? The Bexar County Courthouse is where people go for most all civil matters in San Antonio. The Cadena Reeves Justice Center is the place to go for most all criminal matters in San Antonio, including jury service. Learn more.
SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS DWI RESOURCES
Access to information is important when dealing with DWI charges in San Antonio, Texas. The following entities play an important role in the San Antonio criminal justice system. For more information pertaining to Bexar County court records, which include most all San Antonio court records, visit the Bexar County Clerk & District Clerk’s website.
- San Antonio, Texas
San Antonio is a major city in south-central Texas with a rich colonial heritage. The Alamo, an 18th-century Spanish mission preserved as a museum, marks an infamous 1836 battle for Texan independence from Mexico. Following the San Antonio River, the miles-long River Walk is a landmark pedestrian promenade lined with cafes and shops. San Antonio zip codes include: 78201-78266, 78268-78270, 78275, 78278-78280, 78283-78285, 78288-89, 78291-78299.
- San Antonio Courthouse
The Bexar County Courthouse is a historic building in downtown San Antonio, Texas, USA. The style is Romanesque Revival, and the main material used is red sandstone. Ground was broken for the Courthouse on August 4, 1891, and the cornerstone was laid December 17, 1892.
- Bexar County, Texas
Bexar County is a county in the U.S. state of Texas. It is in South Texas and its county seat is San Antonio. As of the 2020 census, the population was 2,009,324. Bexar County is included in the San Antonio–New Braunfels, TX metropolitan statistical area.
- San Antonio Municipal Court
Address: 401 S Frio St.,
San Antonio, Texas 78207
Phone: (210) 207-8970
- Bexar County Magistrate
Address: 200 N Comal St.,
San Antonio, Texas 78207
Phone: (210) 335-6111
Bexar County Central Magistrate Search
- Bexar County Jail
Address: 200 N Comal St.,
San Antonio, Texas 78207
Phone: (210) 335-6010
Bexar County Jail Inmate Search
Bexar County Jail Records Search
- Bexar County Sheriff
Address: 200 N Comal St.,
San Antonio, Texas 78207
Phone: (210) 335-6000
- Bexar County Clerk
Address: 100 Dolorosa St.,
San Antonio, Texas 78205
Phone: (210) 335-2216
- Bexar District Clerk
Address: 101 W Nueva St., Suite 217,
San Antonio, Texas 78205
Phone: (210) 335-2113
Glowing Client Reviews
Trey is the man! I hired him because I had overheard a county court judge mentioning how awesome of an attorney he is, so if an endorsement from a judge won’t convince you then I’m not sure what will. I sure do hope I never find myself in a pickle ever again but if I do, I would hire Trey in a heartbeat. He’s honest, transparent, doesn’t beat around the bush, and will work tirelessly so that your clean record stays clean and unblemished. 5 stars, highly recommend!
I recently hired Trey Porter Law to help our teenage daughter with a drug charge. In the state of Texas she was being charged as an adult which carried a much stiffer penalty. Trey is very responsive, helpful, knowledgeable and is always available to answer any questions or concerns via phone, text or email. He was able to negotiate on her behalf so it was a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend Trey Porter Law.
Trey really helped me out. He was straight forward and professional, and really helped me in my case. I thought i was going to lose my job, but trey did everything in his power to help me keep my way of life, and still keeps up with me any details on my case.
I really appreciated all he did for me.
Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to help his clients.
He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately! I had faith in him and he continued to prove his expertise by helping me. I highly recommend Trey Porter!!
Trey Porter fought for me! I am a nurse and thought my career was over.
Very thankful I got Trey Porter involved. He responds to messages regularly and was very thorough.
He saved my career. Forever grateful!
Mr Porter is the real deal. You get what you pay for these days. I know that from my personal business dealings. Attorney Trey Porter was no different.
He was prompt, professional and poised. I was charged with DWI, and Mr Porter got the charge dismissed. I could not be more pleased or thankful. If you get a DWI, hire the best — hire Trey Porter.
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15
Driving facts involved failing to maintain a single lane and speeding. Client refused breath test and forced law enforcement to obtain search warrant for blood. Blood test result was not used after challenge from Defense, and State waived and abandoned charge.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client was a college student, worried about the collateral consequences of an alcohol offense. After negotiation and review of the traffic stop, the case was dismissed. Client received no criminal conviction. The charge was later expunged and deleted from client’s record.
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15+
Client was involved in minor accident. Client was at fault in accident. A young executive, client was concerned that a criminal conviction for DWI would result in termination. After review of the traffic stop, it was clear the officer lacked probable cause for arrest. State eventually dismissed DWI charge. Client received no criminal conviction.
Client, a military veteran, was facing up to one year in jail. State could not prove intoxication by alcohol, and was prepared to proceed on loss of use by marijuana. After challenging the State to prove that marijuana was ingested at or near time of driving, and that marijuana impaired client’s driving, the State dismissed the case on the day of trial.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Driving facts involved a false claim by police that taillight was out. After challenging the reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the State was forced to dismiss the case when video did not match police report. Client has since expunged arrest, and has no criminal record.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client is a public school teacher and faced immediate termination upon conviction. The facts of the case were bad. State was unwilling to budge in negotiation, and matter was set for trial – the last shot at avoiding a conviction and preserving client’s livelihood. State was forced to dismiss on day of trial. Client has no criminal record, and has since expunged the DWI arrest.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, the State is working on your conviction. It’s time to start building your defense.