A woman is driving a car with a man in the passenger seat.

Category: DWI Charges

DUI is when a minor under the legal drinking age of 21 operates a motor vehicle with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is a class C misdemeanor crime punishable by a maximum $500 fine, alcohol awareness, community service, and a driver’s license...

To beat a DWI charge in Texas, you must assert and protect your constitutional rights. You must utilize due process to confront all witnesses and challenge all evidence. This means disputing reasonable suspicion, probable cause, and all forensic evidence. You can’t win if you don’t fight....
Yes -- DWI charges show up on a background check forever in Texas. If the DWI was dismissed without probation, it is eligible for deletion through expunction. DWI convictions can now be sealed in certain circumstances with an order of nondisclosure....
Texas DWI Penalties are severe. First-time DWI offenders face up to 1 year in jail, a $6,000.00 fine, court costs, a driver license suspension, and a permanent criminal conviction. Aggravating factors increase fine amounts and periods of incarceration. DWI offenders with multiple convictions face up to 10 years in prison....

Driver’s convicted of DWI charges can face years of jail time, thousands of dollars in fines and fees, the loss of driving privileges, and potentially even their livelihood. With so much at stake, it is always worth fighting a DWI charge, no matter what the circumstances of your arrest. Can...

Everyone charged with DWI in Texas, even first-time offenders, faces a minimum of 6 months in jail. Texas DWI Penalties are severe. First-time DWI offenders face up to 1 year in jail, a $6,000.00 fine, court costs, a driver license suspension, and a permanent criminal conviction. Aggravating factors increase fine...

CAN YOU LOSE YOUR MEDICAL LICENSE FOR A DWI IN TEXAS? A misdemeanor DWI conviction alone will normally not cause a Texas medical license suspension. However, Texas Occupations Code § 164.057 does require a medical license suspension upon conviction for felony DWI, including Intoxication Assault, and Intoxication Manslaughter. Additionally, repeat...

A Texas DUI results in a distinguishable auto insurance rate hike, though these increases vary across insurance providers. On average, DUI offenders can see an increase of several hundred dollars a year on their car insurance. Some insurance companies may even refuse coverage following a DUI in Texas. Does DUI...

A blood test is one of the methods used for investigating and prosecuting Driving While Intoxicated cases in Texas. The law requires drivers arrested for DWI in Texas to submit a breath or blood sample for forensic alcohol testing. A refusal can result in lengthy Texas driver’s license suspension and...

Let's Chat, Consult, and Conquer Together!

DWI is a severe offense for Texas teachers. The State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) certifies teachers in Texas, and can impose disciplinary sanctions for criminal violations, including DWI. This is because the SBEC enforces an Educators Code of Ethics that also requires compliance with all state and federal law....

It is essential to act quickly following a DWI arrest in Austin as driver’s license deadlines and court requirements immediately come into play. Texas mandates a 15 day deadline to contest a driver’s license suspension following a DWI arrest. Additionally, Travis County Community Justice Services often requires immediate compliance with...

Your Legal Roadmap: Answering Your Questions

Question 1

What are the penalties for a first-time DWI/DUI offense in Texas?

Texas DWI Penalties are severe. First-time DWI offenders face up to 1 year in jail, a $6,000.00 fine, court costs, a driver license suspension, and a permanent criminal conviction. Aggravating factors increase fine amounts and periods of incarceration. DWI offenders with multiple convictions face up to 10 years in prison. Read more.
Question 2

How long will a DWI/DUI conviction stay on my record in Texas?

DWI charges show up on a background check forever in Texas. If the DWI was dismissed without probation, it is eligible for deletion through expunction. DWI convictions can now be sealed in certain circumstances with an order of nondisclosure. Read more.
Question 3

Do I need an attorney for a DWI/DUI case in Texas?

Yes. Texas has some of the harshest penalties in the nation for DWI and other intoxication offenses. If you have been charged with DWI it is critical to hire an attorney. Your choice in representation can make the difference between a temporary inconvenience and a lifelong criminal conviction. Read more.
Question 4

What is the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas?

DUI is a Class C Misdemeanor in Texas that only applies to minors under 21. Minors are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle with any detectable alcohol in their system, making the legal limit for a DUI charge 0.0.

DWI is a Class B Misdemeanor in Texas (unless enhanced). It is legal for an adult to operate a motor vehicle with alcohol in their body, so long as their BAC is under 0.08 at the time of operation. The penalties for both DUI and DWI are severe and come with lifelong consequences. Read more.
Question 5

Can you beat a DWI charge in Texas?

To beat a DWI charge in Texas, you must assert and protect your constitutional rights. You must utilize due process to confront all witnesses and challenge all evidence. This means disputing reasonable suspicion, probable cause, and all forensic evidence. You can’t win if you don’t fight. Read more.
Question 6

Can you go to jail for a DWI in Texas?

Everyone charged with DWI in Texas, even first-time offenders, faces a minimum of 6 months in jail. Texas DWI Penalties are severe. First-time DWI offenders face up to 1 year in jail, a $6,000.00 fine, court costs, a driver license suspension, and a permanent criminal conviction. Aggravating factors increase fine amounts and periods of incarceration. DWI offenders with multiple convictions face up to 10 years in prison. Read more.
Testimonials

What our clients think about us

Unlock the Perks of Choosing Us!

 

Request
a free consultation

Contact Trey Porter Today

The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
Legal Insights Unveiled:
Your Path to Clarity

Results matter when life and livelihood are on the line. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests, and the State is legally bound to a burden of proving the charge beyond all reasonable doubt.

© 2024 Trey Porter | All Rights Reserved