A lawyer and a probation officer sitting at a desk talking to each other.

Category: Felony Charges

WHAT IS COMPELLING PROSTITUTION IN TEXAS? The Texas law against compelling prostitution prohibits forcing another to engage in prostitution, or causing a child under 18 years of age to engage in prostitution, with or without force, threats, or coercion. WHAT IS THE COMPELLING PROSTITUTION LAW IN TEXAS? Tex. Penal Code...

WHAT IS AGGRAVATED ONLINE PROMOTION OF PROSTITUTION IN TEXAS? A person who owns or operates a website for posting prostitution ads, sometimes referred to as “erotic services” or “adult services,” may be charged with aggravated online promotion of prostitution if the site advertises five or more prostitutes. WHAT IS THE...

WHAT IS AGGRAVATED PROMOTION OF PROSTITUTION IN TEXAS? The Texas law against aggravated promotion of prostitution prohibits managing or controlling two or more prostitutes, including soliciting clients, and accepting money on their behalf. A pimp who only manages or controls one prostitute may be charged with promotion of prostitution. WHAT...

Let's Chat, Consult, and Conquer Together!

WHAT IS SOLICITATION OF PROSTITUTION IN TEXAS? The Texas law against solicitation of prostitution prohibits agreeing to pay another person to engage in sexual conduct. Prior to 2021, the prostitute and the “john” were both chargeable under the prostitution statute, which is a Class B misdemeanor for the first offense....

WHAT IS PROSTITUTION IN TEXAS? The Texas law against prostitution prohibits offering or agreeing to engage in sexual acts for a fee. WHAT IS THE PROSTITUTION LAW IN TEXAS? Tex. Penal Code § 43.02. PROSTITUTION. (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly offers or agrees to receive...

WHAT IS USE OF LASER POINTERS IN TEXAS? The Texas law against using laser pointers criminalizes shining a laser pointer at law enforcement officers, uniformed safety officers, and first responders. WHAT IS THE USE OF LASER POINTERS LAW IN TEXAS? Tex. Penal Code § 42.13. USE OF LASER POINTERS. (a)...

Your Legal Roadmap: Answering Your Questions

Question 1

What is Drug Possession and Trafficking in Texas?

A person commits an offense if the person knowingly causes, enables, encourages, recruits, or solicits another person to become a member of a criminal street gang which, as a condition of initiation, admission, membership, or continued membership, requires the commission of any conduct which constitutes an offense punishable as a Class A misdemeanor or a felony. Read more.
Question 2

Is Burglary a felony in Texas?

The Texas law against burglary prohibits entering a home or building with the intent to commit theft, assault, or any felony offense, regardless of whether the person attempts or fails to successfully commit the offense. Burglary may also be committed by legally entering but remaining concealed in a home or building, with the intent to commit theft, assault, or any other felony. Read more.
Question 3

What are the penalties for Aggravated Assault in Texas?

Aggravated sexual assault is a first degree felony, punishable by five to 99 years or life in prison. The minimum prison sentence is increased from five to 25 years if... Read more.
Question 4

Is DWI a Felony in Texas?

Texas Penal Code Section Section 49.01 defines “intoxication” in two ways: (1) a blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) of 0.08 or more; or (2) not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body.The subjective definition, or one’s loss of normal use of mental or physical faculties, does not require proof that a person’s blood alcohol concentration was above 0.08. Read more.
Question 5

Is Marijuana Possession a Felony in Texas?

Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 487, known as the Texas Compassionate-Use Act, provides the licensing requirements to obtain medical marijuana.Texas Health and Safety Code Section 481.111 also contains an exemption for a person accused of manufacturing, delivering, or possessing with intent to deliver tetrahydrocannabinols or their derivatives if the person is participating in or manufacturing the tetrahydrocannabinols for use in a federally approved therapeutic research program. Read more.
Question 6

What is the penalty for DUI with a child passenger under 15 in Texas?

Driving while intoxicated with a child passenger in Texas is classified as a state jail felony, which carries a possible penalty of 180 days to two years in a state jail facility. Read more.

What our clients think about us

Unlock the Perks of Choosing Us!


a free consultation

Contact Trey Porter Today

The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
Legal Insights Unveiled:
Your Path to Clarity

Results matter when life and livelihood are on the line. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests, and the State is legally bound to a burden of proving the charge beyond all reasonable doubt.

© 2024 Trey Porter | All Rights Reserved