What is Speeding in Texas?
Speeding is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a maximum $500 fine in Texas. While common, multiple violations can create driver’s license and insurance problems for Texas motorists. Additionally, exceeding posted speed limits by great margins can result in a secondary citation for Unsafe Speed, or full arrest for Reckless Driving. Learn more.
- Is Speeding illegal in Texas? Yes, Speeding is a criminal offense in Texas that can yield a maximum $500 fine and possible insurance premium hike upon conviction. Multiple convictions can result in a Texas driver’s license suspension. Learn more.
- How much over the speed limit can you go in Texas? Exceeding the posted speed limit by even 1 MPH can result in a traffic stop and Speeding citation. Although, for practical reasons, many police officers may not want to bother with the time and paperwork for minor speeding infractions. Importantly, Speeding by any margin allows an officer to stop and potentially search a person they want to investigate for other charges. Learn more.
CAN YOU BE ARRESTED FOR SPEEDING IN TEXAS?
Police may not arrest a driver cited for speeding if the driver signs and certifies they will appear in court at a later date. However, police can arrest drivers for other offenses of excessive speed, such as Unsafe Speed or Reckless Driving. Additionally, motorists who miss their Speeding court dates can be arrested and brought before the judge.
- Can you go to jail for Speeding in Texas? Yes, Texas drivers who fail to appear for their Speeding court date can be arrested and go to jail while they await judicial action. Additionally, Texas drivers who neglect their Deferred Disposition terms are also subject to an arrest warrant. Speeding is otherwise a “fine-only” offense, with no contemplation of jail or prison time as punishment. Learn more.
- Does Speeding give you a criminal record in Texas? Speeding convictions and arrests do appear on criminal and driving records in Texas. Some Speeding arrests may qualify for an Expunction, which deletes all associated criminal records. Learn more.
DO YOU HAVE TO APPEAR IN COURT FOR A SPEEDING TICKET IN TEXAS?
Speeding tickets do require drivers to appear in court in Texas, although many courts offer alternative options. For example, many courts allow citation resolution by telephone or through the internet. Attorneys can also appear for clients to resolve a speeding ticket in Texas.
- Can I just pay my speeding ticket and not go to court in Texas? It is not recommended for Texas motorists to just pay their speeding tickets to avoid court appearance. This can result in a conviction and a host of collateral consequences such as a driver’s license suspension and increased insurance premiums. Texas drivers should always contact an attorney to guide them through this process.
- At what speed do you go to court in Texas? Exceeding the posted speed limit by any velocity can result in a Speeding ticket requiring court appearance.
WHAT IS THE PUNISHMENT FOR SPEEDING IN TEXAS?
Speeding can result in a maximum $500 fine and the required completion of defensive driving classes as punishment in Texas. A variety of considerations factor into the ultimate punishment, such as the alleged speed, the posted speed, and a person’s driving record.
- How much is a first time Speeding ticket in Texas? Drivers can expect to pay between $200 to $400 for a first-time Speeding ticket in Texas. However, Speeding fines vary drastically throughout the State of Texas, and are subject to the specific policies of its many jurisdictions. For example, communities with voluminous commercial 18-wheeler thoroughfare may impose higher fines than less trafficked areas.
- How can I lower my Speeding ticket in Texas? Drivers who request Defensive Driving to resolve their Speeding citations generally pay lower overall fines in Texas, though the requirements may be more onerous. Indigent individuals should make the court aware of this status and request appropriate accommodations. Learn more.
What is the 10% speed rule in Texas?
Fines in Texas Speeding tickets are often calculated by the percentage by which a motorist exceeded the posted speed limit. Accordingly, courts will often impose higher fines when the alleged speed exceeds 10% of the posted speed limit. Exceeding the speed limit by 10% can also result in points against a Texas driver’s license.
- What is 10% over speed limit in Texas? A driver exceeding a posted speed limit of 50 MPH by 10% would be traveling at 55 MPH. Texas courts often impose greater fines when dealing with driver’s speeding faster than 10% of the posted speed limit.
WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU GO 20 MPH OVER THE SPEED LIMIT IN TEXAS?
A driver exceeding the speed limit by 20 MPH will face higher fines in Texas. It is also common for courts to refuse Deferred Disposition or Defensive Driving at these speeds. Therefore, these drivers may be left with no choice but a Speeding conviction and a high fine. Learn more.
- What happens if you go 25 over the speed limit in Texas? Drivers speeding faster than 25 MPH over the posted speed limit risk being also cited for Unsafe Speed or arrested for Reckless Driving in Texas. These 2 offenses are written broadly which permits Texas police officers to wield them as they see fit. Also, Texas courts will generally be more strict with drivers traveling at excessive speeds.
- Does Texas have a super speeder ticket? Yes, Texas drivers who greatly exceed the speed limit can be cited with the offense Unsafe Speed in addition to their Speeding ticket. These motorists may also be arrested and charged with Reckless Driving, a misdemeanor with a maximum 30 day jail sentence.
CAN YOU BE ARRESTED FOR RECKLESS DRIVING IN TEXAS?
Yes, motorists can be arrested and sentenced to a maximum 30 day jail sentence for Reckless Driving in Texas. Reckless Driving forbids driving a vehicle in “wanton or willful disregard” for the safety of others or their property. This is a rather broad standard which, unfortunately, gives officers a great degree of discretion with arrests for this offense.
- What is felony speeding in Texas? Motorists who commit the offense Racing On Highway with 2 prior convictions can be charged with a state jail felony in Texas. Also, excessive Speeding resulting in a death could easily morph into felony homicide charges in certain circumstances. Learn more.
CAN YOU DRIVE FASTER THAN THE SPEED LIMIT IN TEXAS?
Drivers exceeding the speed limit by any metric can be charged with Speeding. However, Texas drivers can beat a Speeding ticket if they can successfully argue their speed was not dangerous or unreasonable. This is because Texas law really only prohibits driving faster than is reasonable and prudent under the circumstances; the posted speed limit is only presumed to be the reasonable and prudent speed under Texas law.
- How fast do you have to go to lose your license in Texas? There is no specific speed that will trigger a license suspension in Texas. However, Texas drivers who accumulate more than 4 moving violation convictions in a year, or more than 7 moving violations in 2 years will face a driver’s license suspension. Texans can check their driver’s license status on the Texas Department of Public Safety website.
- How far away can you get caught speeding in Texas? Texas law enforcement agencies possess high tech equipment that can detect speeding at great distances and across diverse terrain. Motorists who attempt to evade police apprehension in Texas can be charged with felony Evading Arrest charges in certain circumstances.
CAN YOU DRIVE AS FAST AS YOU WANT IN TEXAS?
No, Texas drivers can be cited for exceeding the speed limit by any margin. However, Texas law does not enforce a numerical speed limit, it only prohibits driving faster than is reasonable and prudent. Motorists can therefore beat a speeding ticket in Texas if they can successfully prove their speed was not dangerous or unreasonable despite the posted speed limit.
- Where in Texas is the Speed Limit 30 MPH? Residential areas and high density commercial zones typically impose a 30 MPH speed limit due to high pedestrian presence. School zones will also often reduce the speed to 20 MPH in Texas.
- Where is the 80 MPH speed limit in Texas? Extensive portions of Interstate 10 between Kerr County and El Paso have an 80 MPH speed limit. Additionally, much of toll road Texas 130 has an 80 MPH speed limit.
ARE COPS ALLOWED TO SPEED IN TEXAS?
Cops are not allowed to casually speed in Texas. However, officers are permitted to speed when responding to an emergency situation.
- What part of Texas has no speed limit? All parts of Texas have default speed limits even where no speed limit signs are posted. The general default speed limits are 70 MPH on rural highways, 60 MPH on more urban highways, 30 MPH in urban areas, and 15 MPH in alleys or around beaches.
- Is there a 90 MPH speed limit in Texas? There is not a 90 MPH speed limit in Texas. The fastest speed limit in Texas, and in America, is 85 MPH on nearly 41 miles of Texas 130, a toll road just east of Austin.
HOW MUCH SLOWER THAN THE SPEED LIMIT CAN YOU GO IN TEXAS?
Although there is no numerical minimum speed limit under state law, it is an offense to drive so slowly so as to impede the normal flow of traffic. Also, many jurisdictions will enforce minimum speed limits as local ordinances. In these areas, the minimum speed limit is often 15 MPH less than the posted maximum speed limit.
- Speeding over 100 in Texas? Individuals traveling faster than 100 MPH in Texas will likely also be cited for Unsafe Speed. Recent street racing concerns in Texas mean these motorists risk being arrested for Reckless Driving or Racing On Highway as well. Learn more.
- What road has no speed limit? The German Autobahn is celebrated by driving enthusiasts worldwide for having no speed limits. Officially known as the Bundesautobahn, it is one of the most famous and lengthiest highway systems in the world.
- What is the highest speed limit in the world? The highest posted speed limit in the world is 160 KM/H (roughly 99 MPH) on 2 motorways in the United Arab Emirates.
TREY PORTER NAMED BEST LAWYER IN CRIMINAL DEFENSE
Trey Porter is a dynamic advocate, nationally recognized for his work in Criminal Defense. He has been voted by his peers as a best lawyer in the field of Criminal and DWI Defense every year since 2015. Recognized by SuperLawyers, Mr. Porter has also been distinguished as a Top 40 Under 40 Criminal Defense Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Mr. Porter holds a Superb rating from AVVO, where attorneys are rated based on skillful litigation, client satisfaction, peer endorsements, and positive results. Learn more.
Glowing Client Reviews
Trey is the man! I hired him because I had overheard a county court judge mentioning how awesome of an attorney he is, so if an endorsement from a judge won’t convince you then I’m not sure what will. I sure do hope I never find myself in a pickle ever again but if I do, I would hire Trey in a heartbeat. He’s honest, transparent, doesn’t beat around the bush, and will work tirelessly so that your clean record stays clean and unblemished. 5 stars, highly recommend!
I recently hired Trey Porter Law to help our teenage daughter with a drug charge. In the state of Texas she was being charged as an adult which carried a much stiffer penalty. Trey is very responsive, helpful, knowledgeable and is always available to answer any questions or concerns via phone, text or email. He was able to negotiate on her behalf so it was a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend Trey Porter Law.
Trey really helped me out. He was straight forward and professional, and really helped me in my case. I thought i was going to lose my job, but trey did everything in his power to help me keep my way of life, and still keeps up with me any details on my case.
I really appreciated all he did for me.
Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to help his clients.
He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately! I had faith in him and he continued to prove his expertise by helping me. I highly recommend Trey Porter!!
Trey Porter fought for me! I am a nurse and thought my career was over.
Very thankful I got Trey Porter involved. He responds to messages regularly and was very thorough.
He saved my career. Forever grateful!
Mr Porter is the real deal. You get what you pay for these days. I know that from my personal business dealings. Attorney Trey Porter was no different.
He was prompt, professional and poised. I was charged with DWI, and Mr Porter got the charge dismissed. I could not be more pleased or thankful. If you get a DWI, hire the best — hire Trey Porter.
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15
Driving facts involved failing to maintain a single lane and speeding. Client refused breath test and forced law enforcement to obtain search warrant for blood. Blood test result was not used after challenge from Defense, and State waived and abandoned charge.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client was a college student, worried about the collateral consequences of an alcohol offense. After negotiation and review of the traffic stop, the case was dismissed. Client received no criminal conviction. The charge was later expunged and deleted from client’s record.
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15+
Client was involved in minor accident. Client was at fault in accident. A young executive, client was concerned that a criminal conviction for DWI would result in termination. After review of the traffic stop, it was clear the officer lacked probable cause for arrest. State eventually dismissed DWI charge. Client received no criminal conviction.
Client, a military veteran, was facing up to one year in jail. State could not prove intoxication by alcohol, and was prepared to proceed on loss of use by marijuana. After challenging the State to prove that marijuana was ingested at or near time of driving, and that marijuana impaired client’s driving, the State dismissed the case on the day of trial.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Driving facts involved a false claim by police that taillight was out. After challenging the reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the State was forced to dismiss the case when video did not match police report. Client has since expunged arrest, and has no criminal record.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client is a public school teacher and faced immediate termination upon conviction. The facts of the case were bad. State was unwilling to budge in negotiation, and matter was set for trial – the last shot at avoiding a conviction and preserving client’s livelihood. State was forced to dismiss on day of trial. Client has no criminal record, and has since expunged the DWI arrest.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, the State is working on your conviction. It’s time to start building your defense.