Does a Class C Misdemeanor Stay on your Record in Texas?
Yes, Class C misdemeanors are criminal charges that remain on a criminal record in Texas even when dismissed. Some Class C misdemeanors may qualify for an expunction, which destroys all records of the offense. Learn more.
- What crimes are Class C misdemeanors in Texas? Traffic offenses like Speeding are Class C misdemeanors. Theft less than $100, Assault-Contact, and Disorderly Conduct are also Class C misdemeanors. Possession of Drug Paraphernalia, Open Container, and Public Intoxication are other common Class C misdemeanors.
- What is the penalty for a Class C misdemeanor in Texas? The penalty for a Class C misdemeanor in Texas is a fine not to exceed $500, court-ordered classes, and community service. Class C misdemeanors are not punishable by jail time in Texas although police can still arrest people for Class C offenses.
IS A CLASS C MISDEMEANOR AN ARRESTABLE OFFENSE IN TEXAS?
Yes, most Class C misdemeanors are arrestable offenses. Police can arrest for all class C misdemeanor charges in Texas except Open Container, Speeding, and Cell Phone use while Driving.
- Can you get jail time for a Class C misdemeanor in Texas? No, jail time is not a Class C misdemeanor punishment in Texas. However, police can still conduct Class C misdemeanor arrests, meaning a person can spend time in jail despite Class C misdemeanors being “fine-only” offenses.
- What is the lowest misdemeanor in Texas? Class C misdemeanors are the lowest level criminal misdemeanors in Texas. The highest level misdemeanor is Class A misdemeanor.
- Can you go to jail for a Class A misdemeanor in Texas? Yes, Class A misdemeanors can result in a maximum 1 year jail sentence in Texas. Learn more.
HOW DO I GET RID OF A CLASS C MISDEMEANOR IN TEXAS?
The fastest way to get rid of a Class C misdemeanor is to pay the fine. However, this can result in a conviction and other collateral consequences such as loss of employment. An experienced lawyer can investigate the offense and obtain the most optimal resolution.
- Can you be a nurse with a Class C misdemeanor? Class C misdemeanor traffic violations do not affect eligibility to become a nurse. Other Class C misdemeanors such as Assault-Contact or Theft under $100 will subject current nurses to disciplinary proceedings and jeopardize applications before the Texas Board of Nursing. Learn more.
- Can I get a job with a Class C misdemeanor? A Class C misdemeanor alone does not bar employment. However, those in the transport and delivery industry can lose employment as a result of excessive traffic violations. Similarly, a Class C Assault or Theft can diminish job opportunities for those in hospitality or financial services, for example. Learn more.
- Can you expunge a Class C misdemeanor in Texas? Yes, Class C misdemeanors can be expunged in Texas as long as there is no conviction. Adults cannot expunge a Class C misdemeanor that resulted in a conviction. Criminal convictions remain on a person’s record forever. Minors are eligible to expunge Class C misdemeanor convictions for limited alcohol offenses. Learn more.
WHAT IS A CLASS C WARRANT IN TEXAS?
A Class C warrant in Texas is an arrest warrant for a Class C misdemeanor. Although Class C misdemeanors are not punishable by jail in Texas, a judge can still issue arrest warrants for individuals failing to appear in court or who disregard court-ordered requirements such as a defensive driving class. Learn more.
- Do misdemeanors show up on background checks in Texas? Yes, misdemeanors always appear on a background check in Texas even if dismissed. Class C misdemeanors also stay on criminal and driving records. Certain misdemeanors may qualify for an expunction or order of nondisclosure. Learn more.
- How long does a misdemeanor stay on a background check in Texas? A misdemeanor will permanently stay on a background check in Texas even if dismissed. There is no “five year” period after which it falls off a background check. Certain misdemeanors may be expunged or nondisclosed. Learn more.
DO I HAVE TO GO TO COURT FOR A CLASS C MISDEMEANOR?
Yes, Class C misdemeanors require court appearance, although many courts do offer alternate options. For example, many courts permit virtual, online, or telephonic resolution for Class C offenses. Lawyers can also resolve Class C misdemeanors without their client’s personal appearance.
- Is a Class C misdemeanor a criminal offense in Texas? Class C misdemeanor are considered criminal offenses in Texas. They are not mere infractions or violations.
- How much is a bond for a Class C misdemeanor in Texas? Most Class C misdemeanors do not require a bond except in instances where a person fails to appear. In these circumstances a judge can impose a maximum $500 bond. Some jurisdictions require persons charged with Public Intoxication to post bond. Learn more.
WHAT IS THE MOST TYPICAL PUNISHMENT FOR A FIRST TIME MISDEMEANOR?
Probation is the typical punishment for a first time misdemeanor. Class C misdemeanors typically result in a fine not to exceed $500 and may include court-ordered classes like defensive driving, community service, or alcohol awareness. Learn more.
- Is Speeding a Class C misdemeanor in Texas? Yes, Speeding is a Class C misdemeanor in Texas, punishable by a maximum $500 fine. Many jurisdictions impose strict consequences if the alleged speed is greater than 25 mph over the speed limit.
- What is Class C Texas? Class C Texas signifies a Class C misdemeanor offense. Class C misdemeanors are the lowest category criminal offenses in Texas and include everything from traffic violations to petty theft and disorderly conduct. They are punishable by fine, court-ordered classes, and a permanent criminal conviction.
- What is the most serious misdemeanor in Texas? Class A misdemeanors are the most serious category of misdemeanors in Texas. Assault-Bodily Injury and DWI 2nd are considered the most serious Class A misdemeanors.
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A CLASS B AND CLASS C MISDEMEANOR IN TEXAS?
The range of punishment is the biggest difference between a Class B and Class C misdemeanor offense in Texas. Class B misdemeanors carry a maximum 180 day jail sentence and maximum $2000.00 fine. Class C misdemeanors are punishable by a maximum $500.00 fine only.
- What does Class C stand for in Texas? Class C signifies the lowest category of offense in Texas, Class C misdemeanor. The next category is Class B misdemeanor while the highest misdemeanor is Class A.
- What can I drive with a Class C in Texas? A Class C misdemeanor alone does not prohibit driving in Texas. However, multiple traffic violations and accumulation of outstanding fines can result in a driver’s license suspension. A Class C driver’s license permits individuals to operate vehicles under 26,000 lbs with less than 16 total passengers. Learn more.
- Can I buy a gun with a Class C misdemeanor in Texas? Yes, Class C misdemeanors do not affect a person’s ability to purchase a gun in Texas. However, people with Class C Assault-Contact involving a family member may have complications purchasing or possessing firearms pursuant to federal regulations. Learn more.
CAN A CLASS C MISDEMEANOR BE DROPPED IN TEXAS?
Class C misdemeanors are dropped, dismissed, and resolved without conviction everyday in Texas courts. Some Class C misdemeanors can jeopardize employment opportunities and immigration petitions. Texans should regard Class C misdemeanors seriously and consult with knowledgeable legal counsel when appropriate.
- What is a Class C misdemeanor shoplifting in Texas? Class C misdemeanor shoplifting is theft involving an item worth less than $100 in Texas. Although Class C theft is a low-level misdemeanor, it is considered a crime of moral turpitude and can carry severe professional and immigration consequences.
- Is a DUI a Class C Misdemeanor in Texas? Yes, DUI for minors is a Class C misdemeanor in Texas, and is punishable by a max $500 fine. Many courts will impose some alcohol counseling as well. Learn more.
TREY PORTER NAMED BEST LAWYER IN CRIMINAL DEFENSE
Trey Porter is a dynamic advocate, nationally recognized for his work in Criminal Defense. He has been voted by his peers as a best lawyer in the field of Criminal and DWI Defense every year since 2015. Recognized by SuperLawyers, Mr. Porter has also been distinguished as a Top 40 Under 40 Criminal Defense Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Mr. Porter holds a Superb rating from AVVO, where attorneys are rated based on skillful litigation, client satisfaction, peer endorsements, and positive results. Learn more.
Glowing Client Reviews
Trey is the man! I hired him because I had overheard a county court judge mentioning how awesome of an attorney he is, so if an endorsement from a judge won’t convince you then I’m not sure what will. I sure do hope I never find myself in a pickle ever again but if I do, I would hire Trey in a heartbeat. He’s honest, transparent, doesn’t beat around the bush, and will work tirelessly so that your clean record stays clean and unblemished. 5 stars, highly recommend!
I recently hired Trey Porter Law to help our teenage daughter with a drug charge. In the state of Texas she was being charged as an adult which carried a much stiffer penalty. Trey is very responsive, helpful, knowledgeable and is always available to answer any questions or concerns via phone, text or email. He was able to negotiate on her behalf so it was a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend Trey Porter Law.
Trey really helped me out. He was straight forward and professional, and really helped me in my case. I thought i was going to lose my job, but trey did everything in his power to help me keep my way of life, and still keeps up with me any details on my case.
I really appreciated all he did for me.
Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to help his clients.
He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately! I had faith in him and he continued to prove his expertise by helping me. I highly recommend Trey Porter!!
Trey Porter fought for me! I am a nurse and thought my career was over.
Very thankful I got Trey Porter involved. He responds to messages regularly and was very thorough.
He saved my career. Forever grateful!
Mr Porter is the real deal. You get what you pay for these days. I know that from my personal business dealings. Attorney Trey Porter was no different.
He was prompt, professional and poised. I was charged with DWI, and Mr Porter got the charge dismissed. I could not be more pleased or thankful. If you get a DWI, hire the best — hire Trey Porter.
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15
Driving facts involved failing to maintain a single lane and speeding. Client refused breath test and forced law enforcement to obtain search warrant for blood. Blood test result was not used after challenge from Defense, and State waived and abandoned charge.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client was a college student, worried about the collateral consequences of an alcohol offense. After negotiation and review of the traffic stop, the case was dismissed. Client received no criminal conviction. The charge was later expunged and deleted from client’s record.
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15+
Client was involved in minor accident. Client was at fault in accident. A young executive, client was concerned that a criminal conviction for DWI would result in termination. After review of the traffic stop, it was clear the officer lacked probable cause for arrest. State eventually dismissed DWI charge. Client received no criminal conviction.
Client, a military veteran, was facing up to one year in jail. State could not prove intoxication by alcohol, and was prepared to proceed on loss of use by marijuana. After challenging the State to prove that marijuana was ingested at or near time of driving, and that marijuana impaired client’s driving, the State dismissed the case on the day of trial.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Driving facts involved a false claim by police that taillight was out. After challenging the reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the State was forced to dismiss the case when video did not match police report. Client has since expunged arrest, and has no criminal record.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client is a public school teacher and faced immediate termination upon conviction. The facts of the case were bad. State was unwilling to budge in negotiation, and matter was set for trial – the last shot at avoiding a conviction and preserving client’s livelihood. State was forced to dismiss on day of trial. Client has no criminal record, and has since expunged the DWI arrest.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, the State is working on your conviction. It’s time to start building your defense.