Class A Misdemeanors in Texas
HOW LONG DOES A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR STAY ON YOUR RECORD IN TEXAS?
Class A misdemeanors remain on Texas criminal records permanently even when the case is dismissed. Class A misdemeanors are severe offenses that carry damaging consequences, including a permanent criminal conviction that can devastate professional prospects.
Class A misdemeanors can sometimes be removed from a criminal record in Texas by the legal process of Expunction. Other charges can be publicly sealed through an Order of Nondisclosure. Learn more.
- What is class A misdemeanor punishment? Class A misdemeanors are punishable by a maximum 1 year jail sentence and a maximum $4,000 fine. Additionally, some offenses carry enhanced monetary fines. For example, an enhanced class A misdemeanor DWI .15 or higher carries a maximum $6,000 fine. Courts can levy costs and fees in addition to the criminal fine. Learn more.
- Can a class A misdemeanor be dismissed in Texas? Yes, class A misdemeanors can be dismissed in Texas. Class A misdemeanors are the highest level misdemeanor offense and are thus subject to aggressive prosecution in Texas courts. The best way to beat a class A misdemeanor charge is with knowledgeable legal counsel.
WHAT IS THE MINIMUM SENTENCE FOR A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR IN TEXAS?
There is no mandatory minimum sentence for class A misdemeanors in Texas as they ordinarily carry a jail range of up to one year confinement, and a fine range of up to $4,000. All cases are resolved according to their individual circumstances with Texas judges having ultimate discretion on sentencing.
- What is the lowest misdemeanor in Texas? The lowest misdemeanors in Texas are class C misdemeanors. Class C misdemeanors are criminal offenses in Texas that are punishable by a maximum $500 fine only. Though they are common, some class C misdemeanor offenses can impose severe collateral consequences. Learn more.
- How do I get rid of a class A misdemeanor in Texas? The best way to beat a class A misdemeanor in Texas is with the assistance of experienced legal counsel. A skilled misdemeanor lawyer can leverage weaknesses in a criminal case in Texas to secure a reduction, probation, or a dismissal. Learn more.
DO MISDEMEANORS SHOW UP ON BACKGROUND CHECK IN TEXAS?
Yes, misdemeanors do appear on criminal background checks in Texas, even when dismissed. Some misdemeanors may be deleted through the legal process of Expunction. Other cases can be publicly sealed by an Order of Nondisclosure. Learn more.
- Will a misdemeanor affect employment in Texas? Misdemeanor charges can affect employment in Texas. For example, individuals with Theft cases may have trouble finding work in a bank, and hospitality businesses may not want to hire a person with an Assault case. Additionally, some professional occupations will outright ban individuals for certain criminal offenses. Learn more.
- Do first-time misdemeanor offenders go to jail in Texas? Yes, first-time offenders can go to jail for up to one year on a class A misdemeanor in Texas. Class A misdemeanors are serious charges. Individuals who are initially sentenced to probation can also go to jail upon a probation violation. Learn more.
CAN YOU BUY A GUN WITH A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR TEXAS?
Yes, it is legal to purchase a gun with a class A misdemeanor in Texas. An exception to this is offenses involving domestic violence, which prohibit purchase of firearms. Additionally, class A misdemeanor bond and probation conditions frequently prohibit gun ownership and any violation can result in jail time. Learn more.
- What is the 7 year misdemeanor rule in Texas? There is no 7 year rule or 7 year period where misdemeanor cases automatically disappear from a criminal record in Texas. It is true that certain industries or insurance companies don’t consider any offenses older than 7 years. However, the criminal record still exists and is permanent even when dismissed. Misdemeanor cases can only be deleted through an Expunction. Learn more.
- What level of misdemeanor is the most serious in Texas? Class A misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanor-level offenses in Texas. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail and a maximum $4,000 fine. Class A misdemeanors can even be enhanced to felony offenses in certain circumstances. Learn more.
CAN YOU CONCEAL CARRY IN TEXAS WITH A MISDEMEANOR?
Any misdemeanor conviction is a 5 year disqualification for a concealed carry license in Texas. Even a misdemeanor arrest will temporarily suspend a valid License to Carry (LTC). A skilled misdemeanor defense can best situate a Texas LTC holder so as to avoid these consequences. Learn more.
- What misdemeanors prohibit gun ownership in Texas? Domestic violence misdemeanors, like Assault-Family Violence, prohibit gun ownership in Texas. Additionally, misdemeanor bond and probation conditions frequently prohibit possession of firearms. It is imperative to comply with all such conditions as any violation can lead to jail time. Learn more.
- How much does it cost to expunge a class A misdemeanor in Texas? Expunction costs vary throughout Texas and by the amount and nature of the criminal cases involved. Generally, it can cost up to approximately $5,000 to expunge a class A misdemeanor in Texas. Learn more.
IS A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR A FELONY IN TEXAS?
A class A misdemeanor is NOT a felony offense in Texas. Class A misdemeanors are very serious charges, and are categorized as the highest-level misdemeanor charge in Texas. Certain class A misdemeanors can be enhanced to a felony depending on the circumstances of the offense and a person’s criminal history. Learn more.
- How far does a background check go in Texas? A criminal background check generally checks for ALL criminal offenses regardless of date or time. However, a background check will not reveal cases that have been expunged. Learn more.
- How long does it take to get a court date for a misdemeanor in Texas? Waiting periods for misdemeanor court dates vary across Texas. Bigger counties generally have more resources to accommodate quicker, more immediate court settings where it may take longer for cases to come through in smaller jurisdictions.Texas counties like Travis and Tarrant County usually have court dates within a matter of several weeks. Whereas it can take several months to a year to get a court date in smaller Texas counties Gillespie and Bell County.
WHAT IS THE HIGHEST MISDEMEANOR IN TEXAS?
Class A misdemeanors are the highest category of misdemeanors in Texas. However, class A misdemeanors are enhanceable in certain circumstances. Learn more.
- How much is a day in jail worth in Texas? Texas courts have discretion to assign a particular monetary value for a day spent in a Texas jail though this is generally calculated at around $100 per 24 hours. Texas jails also routinely assess good time credit where greater time is credited during periods of good behavior.
- Class A misdemeanor Assault Texas? Class A misdemeanor Assault is the resulting offense when an individual inflicts bodily injury on another or threatens another with imminent bodily injury. This offense carries a maximum 1 year jail sentence and a maximum $4,000 fine. A class A misdemeanor Assault can be enhanced to a felony in certain circumstances, including when a peace officer is assaulted.
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR FAMILY VIOLENCE TEXAS?
The most common class A misdemeanor offense of family violence is Assault-Family Violence. Assault-Family Violence is the resulting criminal charge when an individual assaults a family member, a dating partner, or a roommate. Assault-Family Violence, sometimes referred to as domestic violence or domestic assault in Texas, is a severe criminal charge that inflicts damaging collateral consequences including a loss of all 2nd amendment rights. Learn more.
- Do misdemeanors go away after 7 years in Texas? Misdemeanors do not go away after 7 years in Texas. Misdemeanor are permanent even when dismissed. The only way for a misdemeanor to go away is by removing the record through an Expunction in Texas. Learn more.
- Do I have to disclose a misdemeanor after 7 years in Texas? Yes, criminal charges are permanent in Texas. This requires disclosure on all application forms. Deleted and sealed charges do not always require disclosure. A person does not need to disclose an expunged misdemeanor. Learn more.
WHAT IS THE MOST SERIOUS MISDEMEANOR IN TEXAS?
Class A misdemeanor is the most serious misdemeanor level in Texas, punishable by a maximum 1 year jail sentence, and a maximum $4,000 fine. Generally, DWI 2nd and Assault-Family Violence carry the most significant collateral consequences among class A misdemeanors in Texas.
- Can you expunge a misdemeanor if you plead guilty in Texas? A guilty misdemeanor plea leading to a criminal conviction is generally not eligible for Expunction in Texas. However, a guilty plea as part of a diversion or specialty court program may qualify for an Expunction. Learn more.
TREY PORTER NAMED BEST LAWYER IN CRIMINAL DEFENSE
Trey Porter is a dynamic advocate, nationally recognized for his work in Criminal Defense. He has been voted by his peers as a best lawyer in the field of Criminal and DWI Defense every year since 2015. Recognized by SuperLawyers, Mr. Porter has also been distinguished as a Top 40 Under 40 Criminal Defense Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Mr. Porter holds a Superb rating from AVVO, where attorneys are rated based on skillful litigation, client satisfaction, peer endorsements, and positive results. Learn more.
Glowing Client Reviews
Trey is the man! I hired him because I had overheard a county court judge mentioning how awesome of an attorney he is, so if an endorsement from a judge won’t convince you then I’m not sure what will. I sure do hope I never find myself in a pickle ever again but if I do, I would hire Trey in a heartbeat. He’s honest, transparent, doesn’t beat around the bush, and will work tirelessly so that your clean record stays clean and unblemished. 5 stars, highly recommend!
I recently hired Trey Porter Law to help our teenage daughter with a drug charge. In the state of Texas she was being charged as an adult which carried a much stiffer penalty. Trey is very responsive, helpful, knowledgeable and is always available to answer any questions or concerns via phone, text or email. He was able to negotiate on her behalf so it was a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend Trey Porter Law.
Trey really helped me out. He was straight forward and professional, and really helped me in my case. I thought i was going to lose my job, but trey did everything in his power to help me keep my way of life, and still keeps up with me any details on my case.
I really appreciated all he did for me.
Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to help his clients.
He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately! I had faith in him and he continued to prove his expertise by helping me. I highly recommend Trey Porter!!
Trey Porter fought for me! I am a nurse and thought my career was over.
Very thankful I got Trey Porter involved. He responds to messages regularly and was very thorough.
He saved my career. Forever grateful!
Mr Porter is the real deal. You get what you pay for these days. I know that from my personal business dealings. Attorney Trey Porter was no different.
He was prompt, professional and poised. I was charged with DWI, and Mr Porter got the charge dismissed. I could not be more pleased or thankful. If you get a DWI, hire the best — hire Trey Porter.
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15
Driving facts involved failing to maintain a single lane and speeding. Client refused breath test and forced law enforcement to obtain search warrant for blood. Blood test result was not used after challenge from Defense, and State waived and abandoned charge.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client was a college student, worried about the collateral consequences of an alcohol offense. After negotiation and review of the traffic stop, the case was dismissed. Client received no criminal conviction. The charge was later expunged and deleted from client’s record.
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15+
Client was involved in minor accident. Client was at fault in accident. A young executive, client was concerned that a criminal conviction for DWI would result in termination. After review of the traffic stop, it was clear the officer lacked probable cause for arrest. State eventually dismissed DWI charge. Client received no criminal conviction.
Client, a military veteran, was facing up to one year in jail. State could not prove intoxication by alcohol, and was prepared to proceed on loss of use by marijuana. After challenging the State to prove that marijuana was ingested at or near time of driving, and that marijuana impaired client’s driving, the State dismissed the case on the day of trial.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Driving facts involved a false claim by police that taillight was out. After challenging the reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the State was forced to dismiss the case when video did not match police report. Client has since expunged arrest, and has no criminal record.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client is a public school teacher and faced immediate termination upon conviction. The facts of the case were bad. State was unwilling to budge in negotiation, and matter was set for trial – the last shot at avoiding a conviction and preserving client’s livelihood. State was forced to dismiss on day of trial. Client has no criminal record, and has since expunged the DWI arrest.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, the State is working on your conviction. It’s time to start building your defense.