Laredo DWI Lawyer
BEST DWI LAWYER IN LAREDO
Driving While Intoxicated is a serious charge. If you are facing a DWI in Webb County the stakes are high. A DWI arrest results in a driver’s license suspension. DWI charges also negatively impact work opportunities and restrict the right to travel. DWI conviction are permanent criminal convictions and must be avoided at all costs.
Outcomes matter when your life and liberty are on the line. You can’t win if you don’t fight, and you cannot fight alone.
Trey Porter is a dynamic advocate, nationally recognized for his work in Criminal Defense. Voted by his peers as a best lawyer in the field of Criminal and DWI Defense every year since 2015, Mr. Porter is recognized as a Texas SuperLawyer, and distinguished as a Top 40 Under 40 Criminal Defense Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Mr. Porter holds a Superb rating from AVVO, where attorneys are rated based on skillful litigation, client satisfaction, peer endorsements, and positive results. Learn more.
- Do I need a lawyer for a DWI in Laredo? Yes. Every person facing criminal prosecution needs counsel. An experienced DWI attorney works to protect and preserve your rights. Having the best legal representation can yield the best results in a criminal case. Learn more.
- Can a DWI be dismissed in Laredo? Yes – DWI charges can be dismissed and dropped in Laredo. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests. Police officers must establish reasonable suspicion and probable cause in every case, every time, without exception. A powerful defense reviews and challenges all evidence to leverage mistakes or weaknesses into a dismissal or reduction. Learn more.
WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU GET YOUR FIRST DWI IN LAREDO?
After being arrested for DWI in Laredo, everyone is eventually taken to the Webb County Jail, located at 1000 San Agustin Ave, Laredo, TX 78040 in downtown Laredo, for processing and an eventual appearance before a magistrate judge. Magistrate judges set bond amounts and other conditions of release.
This process is slow, impractical, and frustrating. In Laredo, it often takes 8-10 months from jail release before a DWI case is resolved.
- What to expect after arrest for DWI in Webb County? Hiring a top DWI lawyer in Laredo is the most important first step after arrest. There are fast-moving deadlines that require professional attention almost immediately after being arrested. There are only 15 days to contest the automatic driver’s license suspension. The contest is important, and should not be missed. Learn more.
- What happens on the first court date in Texas? The first court date is called arraignment in Texas. The first court date is a short, formal appearance where the judge ensures the defendant knows the charge(s) and is represented by counsel. Missing this court date will result in additional criminal charges. It is important to seek legal counsel ahead of these early dates and deadlines. Learn more.
- How do you get out of a DWI charge in Laredo? Fighting to protect and assert your rights is the best way to get out of a DWI charge in Laredo. Challenging the State’s evidence, applying relevant Texas law, and relentlessly looking for an opportunity to leverage a State weakness or error into a defense advantage. Learn more.
Nothing is more important than protecting your freedom and future. Retaining the best Laredo DWI lawyer puts you in the strongest position possible to obtain a dismissal or reduction. Learn more.
HOW DO I GET MY LICENSE BACK AFTER A DWI IN LAREDO?
Driving privileges are subject to suspension after a DWI charge in Texas, but they are not immediately suspended. A replacement driver’s license can be requested from the Texas Department of Public Safety online. Getting your license card back does not prevent a suspension, and it does not serve as a request for an administrative hearing. Learn more.
- Do you lose your license for first DWI in Webb County? Yes. You can lose your driver’s license after a DWI arrest in Webb County, Texas. Texas DPS administratively suspends driving privileges for everyone charged with DUI in Texas. Learn more.
- Can you drive with a suspended license in WEBB county? No. It is illegal to drive a motor vehicle with a suspended license in Texas. Driving with a suspended license while a DWI is pending in WEBB County Court can result in bond revocation and additional criminal charges.
An Occupational License is the only way to legally drive during a period of suspension in Texas. Learn more.
IS YOUR LICENSE AUTOMATICALLY SUSPENDED AFTER A DUI IN LAREDO?
Every person charged with DWI in Texas faces an automatic Administrative License Revocation (ALR) suspension of their driving privileges. The suspension takes effect approximately 40 days from the date of arrest. Learn more.
The ALR hearing is the only chance to contest the suspension. The ALR hearing is an important part of DWI defense and should never be skipped over. Learn more.
- How do I get my license back after a DWI in Laredo? If your license card is confiscated, you may request a new license through the Texas DPS website. If your license is suspended, you may be eligible for an Occupational Driver License. Learn more.
- What is ALR hearing for Laredo DWI? Everyone charged with DWI in Webb County faces an automatic administrative license revocation (ALR). After an ALR suspension takes effect, it is illegal to drive. The suspension takes effect approximately 40 days from the date of arrest. The ALR hearing is the one and only chance to contest the suspension. Learn more.
- How long is your license suspended for a DWI in Laredo? Driving privileges are suspended for 90 – 180 days after an arrest for DWI Webb County. Commercially licensed drivers face significantly longer periods of suspension. Learn more.
HOW LIKELY IS JAIL TIME FOR FIRST LAREDO DWI?
Jail time is a real, legal possibility for first-time DWI offenders. The range of incarceration faced depends on a person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The maximum jail sentence for DWI 1st in LAREDO is 12 months unless enhanced by aggravating factors. Learn more.
- What is the penalty for first-time DWI in WEBB County? A first-time DWI charge in WEBB County is a Class B misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $3,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 6 months. A conviction for this offense is permanent, and results in a driver license suspension. Aggravating factors can enhance the penalties for DWI in Texas. Learn more.
- What is the punishment for the DWI in LAREDO? Punishment for a DWI is either probation or jail time. There is no minimum probation period. The maximum period of incarceration for misdemeanor DWI charges is one year, and 10 years for felony DWI charges. Learn more.
The punishment a person receives is largely impacted by the representation they choose. A powerful, experienced defense can make the difference between a dismissal and a conviction. Learn more.
- Is the first DWI a felony in LAREDO? A first-time DWI charge in Comal county is a Class B misdemeanor. However, aggravating factors like serious bodily injury or the presence of a child passenger under 15 years old can result in felony charges. Learn more.
WHAT ARE PENALTIES FOR DWI IN LAREDO?
The penalties for DWI in Laredo are serious. DWI penalties include jail time up to one year for first-time offenders, driver’s license suspension, restricted second amendment and travel rights, and thousands of dollars in fines. Additionally, a permanent criminal conviction can have lifelong consequences on professional licenses, college admissions, and security clearances. Learn more.
It is critical to avoid a conviction for DWI in Texas at all costs. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for a Webb County misdemeanor DWI? First-time DWI charges are Class B misdemeanors, though they can be enhanced by certain factors. The penalties for DWI first in Laredo are up to 1 year in jail, up to $6,000.00 in fines, loss of driving privileges, loss of constitutional rights, and the far-reaching repercussions of a permanent criminal conviction. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for Class B DWI charge in Laredo? DWI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) below 0.14 is a Class B misdemeanor. This categorization does not change if drugs are found in the blood analysis. The maximum fine for this offense is $3,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 6 months. A conviction for this offense is permanent, and results in a driver license suspension. Learn more.
- Is a .15 or higher a DWI in Laredo? DWI with a BAC of 0.15 or higher is a Class A misdemeanor in Webb County, Texas. The maximum fine is $6,000.00, and the maximum jail sentence is 12 months. A conviction for this offense is permanent, and results in a driver license suspension. Learn more.
- What are the penalties for DWI with Open Container in Webb County? DWI with an Open Container is a Class A or B misdemeanor, depending on a person’s BAC, falling into the same punishment ranges as set forth above. However, a person convicted of this offense faces a minimum of 6 days in jail because of the Open Container enhancement. Learn more.
DWI 2ND CONSEQUENCES IN LAREDO
Everyone released on bond for DWI 2nd in Webb county is required to install the ignition interlock device in all vehicles they drive. This is expensive and inconvenient. Additionally, jail time is a requirement of punishment for DWI 2nd – even if probation is granted. Learn more.
- How much does a second DUI cost? The maximum fine for a DWI 2nd offense in Laredo is $6,000.00. Court costs, probation, and pretrial fees can add thousands of more dollars to the total amount a person could be required by law to pay for a DWI 2nd in Webb county.
- Can you go to jail for DWI 2nd in Laredo? Yes, jail time is a real possibility for everyone facing a DWI 2nd charge. The maximum period of incarceration is 1 year in the Webb County Jail. Learn more.
DWI vs DUI IN WEBB COUNTY
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a Class C misdemeanor in Texas. DUI only applies to minors under 21. Minors are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle with any detectable alcohol in their system, making the legal limit for a DUI charge 0.0. Learn more.
- Can Laredo DUI charges be dismissed? Yes. DUI charges in Laredo can be dismissed. Hiring an experienced DUI lawyer is the first step towards obtaining a dismissal. Never plead guilty to a DUI charge. Dismissed DUI charges can be expunged and deleted from the record. Learn more.
- Can you avoid jail time for a 1st DUI in Webb county? Yes, jail can be avoided for a DUI charge in Webb County, Texas. DUI is a Class C misdemeanor, and jail is not legally available as a punishment for first-time offenders. Learn more.
HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE FOR JAIL RELEASE AFTER DWI ARREST IN WEBB COUNTY?
Jail release in Laredo can take up to, and sometimes longer than, 24 hours. It’s a difficult, time-consuming process.
- How much is bail for a DWI in Laredo? Bail for first-time DWI charges in Texas rarely exceeds $5,000.00. This is the first of many costs associated with the Texas DWI process. Judges have total discretion over bond amounts. Learn more.
WHAT IS THE AVERAGE COST OF A DWI IN LAREDO?
DWI charges are expensive. Being convicted can be financially devastating. It’s impossible to put a price on what it’s worth to avoid jail and a permanent criminal conviction. The legal team you retain to protect your rights and preserve your future is critically important. Learn more.
- DWI in Laredo first offense cost? The maximum fine for a first DWI offense in Texas is $6,000.00. The total damage a permanent criminal conviction has on job opportunities and lost income is incalculable. Learn more.
- How much is a DWI lawyer in Laredo? Fighting a DWI costs thousands of dollars. In Laredo, even first-time offenders can face up to 365 days in jail. Good lawyers are attentive to communication, detailed and focused with strategy, and often get the best results for their clients. Learn more.
- How much does a DWI Cost in Webb County, Texas? The maximum fine for a first or second DWI offense in Texas is $6,000.00. The maximum fine for a felony DWI is $10,000.00. An effective DWI lawyer can fight for dismissal and work to mitigate consequences, saving time and money, potentially preserving your career and reputation. Learn more.
HOW DO YOU BEAT A DWI IN LAREDO?
Leveraging powerful constitutional rights – like the Sixth Amendment’s Confrontation Clause – can have a devastating effect on the State’s case. The Webb County District Attorney cannot legally obtain a conviction in a case where necessary evidence has been suppressed by a judge. Learn more.
- How to get a DWI dismissed in Laredo? Challenging the State’s evidence is the most effective way to dismiss a Laredo DWI charge, whether it’s a DWI first-offense, DWI 2nd, or even a felony DWI 3rd or more. If a judge suppresses evidence, the State cannot use it to prosecute. Learn more.
- What are the chances of DWI dismissal in Webb County? Criminal charges are regularly dismissed in Webb county courtrooms. Charges are not dismissed through goodwill or luck, rather they are dismissed because a powerful defense forced the State prosecutors to dismiss the charge. Challenging evidence is a critical part of obtaining a dismissal. Learn more.
HOW LONG DOES DWI STAY ON YOUR RECORD?
Forever. DWI charges are permanent and remain on the record forever. If the charge was dismissed without probation, it may be eligible for removal and deletion through the legal process of expunction. If the charge resulted in a conviction, it may be eligible to be sealed through an order of nondisclosure. Learn more.
- Can a DWI be expunged and removed from the record? Laredo DWI charges that resulted in a dismissal may be deleted through the legal process of expunction. Charges not eligible for expunction may still qualify for an order of nondisclosure, which has the effect of sealing the record. Learn more.
- How long does a DWI stay on your driving record? DWI charges stay on a person’s Texas driving history forever. Texas DPS does not wipe or restart records every 7 years. However, in qualifying situations, DWI charges can be removed from the public record through an expunction. Learn more.
WHAT BAC IS CONSIDERED DWI IN LAREDO?
The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in Texas is 0.08. Blood alcohol levels that exceed this amount are over the legal alcohol limit for driving a motor vehicle in Texas. Learn more.
- What BAC level is considered DUI in Texas? 0.1 is the legal limit for DUI in Texas. DUI only applies to minors in Texas. The legal alcohol limit for adults in Texas is 0.08. BAC is not required for DWI in Texas. Police regularly arrest motorists based on field sobriety tests and other factors without offering a breath or blood test. Learn more.
BEST DWI LAWYER IN LAREDO | WEBB COUNTY, TEXAS
Trey Porter Law represents people facing Intoxication & DWI charges in Laredo and Webb County, as well as the surrounding areas of Eagle Pass, and Del Rio.
Standing up for the citizen accused, from students to teachers, veterans to first responders, and professionals across varied industries and disciplines, TPL brings a results-oriented & client-focused approach to solving complex problems.
LAREDO DWI RESOURCES
Access to information is important when dealing with a criminal charge. The following entities play an important role in the Laredo criminal justice system. For more information visit the Webb County, Texas website.
- Webb County District Attorney
1110 Washington St., #301
Laredo, TX 78040
Phone: (956) 523-4900
- Webb County Clerk
1110 Victoria St., #203,
Laredo, TX 78040
Webb County criminal records search
- Webb County District Clerk
1110 Victoria St., #203,
Laredo, TX 78040
Webb County criminal records search
- Webb County Court at Law 1
1110 Victoria St., # 303
Laredo, Texas 78040
- Webb County Court at Law 2
1110 Victoria St., # 404
Laredo, Texas 78040
Glowing Client Reviews
Trey is the man! I hired him because I had overheard a county court judge mentioning how awesome of an attorney he is, so if an endorsement from a judge won’t convince you then I’m not sure what will. I sure do hope I never find myself in a pickle ever again but if I do, I would hire Trey in a heartbeat. He’s honest, transparent, doesn’t beat around the bush, and will work tirelessly so that your clean record stays clean and unblemished. 5 stars, highly recommend!
I recently hired Trey Porter Law to help our teenage daughter with a drug charge. In the state of Texas she was being charged as an adult which carried a much stiffer penalty. Trey is very responsive, helpful, knowledgeable and is always available to answer any questions or concerns via phone, text or email. He was able to negotiate on her behalf so it was a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend Trey Porter Law.
Trey really helped me out. He was straight forward and professional, and really helped me in my case. I thought i was going to lose my job, but trey did everything in his power to help me keep my way of life, and still keeps up with me any details on my case.
I really appreciated all he did for me.
Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to help his clients.
He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately! I had faith in him and he continued to prove his expertise by helping me. I highly recommend Trey Porter!!
Trey Porter fought for me! I am a nurse and thought my career was over.
Very thankful I got Trey Porter involved. He responds to messages regularly and was very thorough.
He saved my career. Forever grateful!
Mr Porter is the real deal. You get what you pay for these days. I know that from my personal business dealings. Attorney Trey Porter was no different.
He was prompt, professional and poised. I was charged with DWI, and Mr Porter got the charge dismissed. I could not be more pleased or thankful. If you get a DWI, hire the best — hire Trey Porter.
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15
Driving facts involved failing to maintain a single lane and speeding. Client refused breath test and forced law enforcement to obtain search warrant for blood. Blood test result was not used after challenge from Defense, and State waived and abandoned charge.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client was a college student, worried about the collateral consequences of an alcohol offense. After negotiation and review of the traffic stop, the case was dismissed. Client received no criminal conviction. The charge was later expunged and deleted from client’s record.
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15+
Client was involved in minor accident. Client was at fault in accident. A young executive, client was concerned that a criminal conviction for DWI would result in termination. After review of the traffic stop, it was clear the officer lacked probable cause for arrest. State eventually dismissed DWI charge. Client received no criminal conviction.
Client, a military veteran, was facing up to one year in jail. State could not prove intoxication by alcohol, and was prepared to proceed on loss of use by marijuana. After challenging the State to prove that marijuana was ingested at or near time of driving, and that marijuana impaired client’s driving, the State dismissed the case on the day of trial.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Driving facts involved a false claim by police that taillight was out. After challenging the reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the State was forced to dismiss the case when video did not match police report. Client has since expunged arrest, and has no criminal record.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client is a public school teacher and faced immediate termination upon conviction. The facts of the case were bad. State was unwilling to budge in negotiation, and matter was set for trial – the last shot at avoiding a conviction and preserving client’s livelihood. State was forced to dismiss on day of trial. Client has no criminal record, and has since expunged the DWI arrest.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, the State is working on your conviction. It’s time to start building your defense.