What to do after DWI arrest in Austin?
It is essential to act quickly following a DWI arrest in Austin as driver’s license deadlines and court requirements immediately come into play. Texas mandates a 15 day deadline to contest a driver’s license suspension following a DWI arrest.
Additionally, Travis County Community Justice Services often requires immediate compliance with bond conditions and alcohol monitoring. Texans facing a DWI charge in Austin should immediately contact an experienced DWI attorney for guidance. Learn more.
- What to do after getting a DWI in Austin? It is important to immediately request an ALR hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to avoid a driver’s license suspension as this right is only available for 15 days following a DWI arrest in Austin. One should immediately verify court dates and also ensure compliance with all bond conditions as Travis County Pretrial Services often imposes certain classes and alcohol monitoring. Failure to comply with bond conditions can result in an arrest warrant. Learn more.
- What happens after your first DWI in Austin? Even a first DWI arrest in Austin can result in jail time and a driver’s license suspension. A first offense can also lead to many other collateral consequences like costlier insurance premiums and professional disciplinary proceedings. The Travis County and District Attorney’s Offices prosecute all DWI cases aggressively, making experience a crucial element in formulating an effective DWI defense in Austin. Learn more.
IS JAIL TIME MANDATORY FOR 1ST DWI IN AUSTIN?
Jail time is not mandatory for a first DWI in Austin, though it is contemplated in the range of punishment. In fact, even first-time offenders can face up to 1 year in jail. However, an effective DWI defense can leverage weaknesses in the prosecution case to secure probation, a reduction, and even a dismissal. Learn more.
- How do I get someone out of jail for a DWI in Austin? Individuals arrested for DWI in Austin are booked by the Travis County Sheriff’s Office and are then required to appear before a magistrate judge who will set the required bond amount for release. Custody, bond amount, and case information can be located online at the Travis County Sheriff’s Office’s website.
- How much is bail for DWI in Austin? Travis County judges have ultimate authority over bond amounts and can factor in an entire criminal history and the individual facts of the case in determining bond for a DWI in Austin. Bond amounts for 1st DWI in Austin can be several thousand dollars although some individuals may qualify for a personal bond. Bond amounts can be checked on the sheriff’s office website. Learn more.
DO I NEED A LAWYER FOR A DWI IN AUSTIN?
Yes, it is critical to retain counsel when facing a DWI charge in Austin. DWI is a serious offense and treated accordingly by Travis County prosecutors. Texas DWI consequences are severe, and have far-reaching implications. It is not recommended for anyone to resolve a DWI in Austin without legal representation.
- What is the most common penalty for a first-time DWI? Even first-time DWI offenders in Austin face a minimum 6 month jail sentence and a possible $6,000 fine. Experienced legal counsel can negotiate more favorable terms, including probation, and can even secure a dismissal with no penalty in some cases.
- What is the minimum jail sentence for DWI in Austin? The minimum jail sentence for DWI in Austin is 6 months. Certain offenders can qualify for probation, and experienced DWI counsel can secure a dismissal, which would mean no jail sentence, in some cases.
HOW HARD IS IT TO BEAT A DWI IN AUSTIN?
DWI cases in Austin are not casually dismissed but are instead prosecuted aggressively in Travis County; high-profile arrests and fatalities place significant pressure on politically-elected prosecutors to be “tough on DWI.” An experienced DWI lawyer can build an effective defense to proactively situate you in the best position to beat your Austin DWI. Learn more.
- Can you drive after a DWI in Austin? Yes, motorists can drive after a DWI in Austin as long as their license is not suspended due to an ALR or DWI conviction suspension. Additionally, Travis County DWI probation conditions often prohibit individuals to operate a motor vehicle without an ignition interlock device. Learn more.
- Do you lose your license for a first DWI in Austin? Yes, drivers can lose their licenses for a first DWI in Austin through ALR suspension or DWI conviction. However, drivers can request an ALR hearing to contest a license suspension and employ an effective DWI defense to otherwise avoid a conviction-related suspension. Learn more.
- Can I get my license back after DWI in Austin? Yes, a Texas driver’s license may be reinstated following a DWI related suspension. This often requires a reinstatement fee. Additionally, some drivers may qualify for an Occupational Driver’s License to allow them to drive legally during the suspension period. Learn more.
CAN YOU PLEAD NO CONTEST TO A DWI IN AUSTIN?
Yes, Travis County allows individuals facing DWI charges to plead no contest in their case. A “no contest” plea is often recommended to avoid civil liabilities for those individuals whose DWI case resulted in a vehicular accident where damages are alleged.
- What to expect in DWI trial Austin, Texas? Travis County prosecutors get the first chance to present witnesses and argue evidence and guilt. All State witnesses are then subject to cross examination where an experienced DWI lawyer can highlight weaknesses to create reasonable doubt or exonerate the defendant. In most cases a jury ultimately decides whether the defendant is guilty of DWI. Learn more.
- What is the best case scenario for a first-time DWI in Austin? A dismissal is always the best case scenario for a first-time DWI in Austin.
IS FIRST DWI A FELONY IN AUSTIN?
A first-offense DWI is a misdemeanor in Austin, Texas. However, even a first-time DWI can be enhanced to a felony if resulting in serious bodily injury or death. Learn more.
- What is the offense in first-time driving with drunk? A first time DWI in Austin is typically a class B misdemeanor but can be enhanced to a class A misdemeanor if the driver’s BAC is 0.15 or higher. Additionally, even a first offense can be enhanced to a felony when involving child passengers or in cases resulting in serious bodily injury or death. Learn more.
- What is the best outcome for a DWI in Austin? Prosecutors in Austin treat DWI cases seriously as they are a significant side effect of the city’s renown entertainment and music culture. However, an aggressive DWI defense can secure a dismissal as the best outcome for a DWI in Austin, despite its hard-earned reputation. Learn more.
IS THERE A WASHOUT PERIOD FOR DWI IN AUSTIN?
There is no washout period for DWI convictions in Austin, which means even decades-old DWI convictions are treated as priors for enhancement purposes. However, certain DWI arrests may be removed from a Texas criminal record. Learn more.
- What are the chances of getting a DWI dismissed in Austin? DWI is a serious offense in Austin. However, you can’t win if you don’t fight. DWI cases can be dismissed, reduced, and resolved without conviction in Austin courts.
- Will I go to jail for first time drink driving? Even a first-offense DWI carries a minimum 6 month jail sentence. However, many DWI cases are resolved without jail, and even reduced to non-DWI offenses by experienced DWI defense in Austin. Learn more.
WHAT IS THE NORMAL SENTENCE FOR DRINK DRIVING IN AUSTIN?
Every DWI case is resolved according to its individual facts and circumstances in Austin. Some cases are dismissed while others are resolved with probation and fines. Felony DWI cases carry a greater risk for lengthy jail sentences. A skilled DWI lawyer can help those facing DWI charges secure the best result in Austin and throughout Texas.
- Is Drunk Driving an arrestable offense in Austin? Yes, motorists found to be driving while intoxicated in Austin are arrested, prosecuted criminally, and subject to harsh penalties including lengthy driver’s license suspensions and costly fines. Learn more.
- How long does it take for a DWI to come off your record in Austin? A DWI stays permanently on criminal records in Austin even when dismissed. However, some DWI cases may qualify for an Expunction or an order of nondisclosure. Learn more.
WHAT IS THE MINIMUM SENTENCE FOR DWI IN AUSTIN?
Even the minimum DWI sentence in Austin can be harsh. For example, DWI offenders can face jail time, costly fines, lengthy community service, driver’s license suspension, increased insurance premiums, and a host of other collateral consequences. Learn more.
- What is the best case scenario for a first time DUI in Austin? An effective DUI defense should always focus on a dismissal. A DUI in Austin can carry severe consequences. An experienced Austin DUI attorney can help motorists avoid the harshest penalties. Learn more.
- Can a DWI be reduced in Austin? Yes, DWI cases can be reduced in Austin. In certain instances Felony DWI charges can be reduced to misdemeanors. Certain misdemeanor DWI cases can also be reduced to a lower level offense.
CAN YOU GET PROBATION FOR DWI IN AUSTIN?
Yes, probation is available for DWI cases in Austin. Travis County DWI probation requires strict compliance with all conditions, including alcohol and drug testing, substance abuse counseling, and community service. Failure to comply with all probation conditions can result in a probation revocation and jail. Learn more.
- How long is probation for first time DWI in Austin? A first-time misdemeanor DWI can result in up to 2 years of probation. Felony DWI cases carry a maximum probation of 10 years. Certain DWI probation terms may qualify for early termination of supervision. Learn more.
- Can you drink while on probation in Austin? No, DWI probation in Austin specifically prohibits drinking while on supervision. A positive test for alcohol can result in probation revocation, a permanent criminal conviction, increased fines, and a lengthy jail sentence. Learn more.
HOW DO I GET OUT OF A DWI IN AUSTIN?
DWI is a serious criminal offense requiring experienced legal analysis and technical savvy for an efficient defense. DWI lawyers proficient in the science and nuance of DWI investigation offer the best chances of beating a DWI in Austin. Learn more.
- How many DWI cases get dismissed in Austin? There are very real chances for DWI dismissal in Austin. DWI cases can be dismissed, reduced, and resolved without conviction in Austin courts.
- Can I ask for Texas second chance law for first DWI in Austin? Yes, certain first-offense DWI cases are eligible for the Second Chance Law in Austin, which allows for the nondisclosure of relevant arrest and case records. Learn more.
HOW MUCH DOES IT COST TO DEFEND A DWI IN AUSTIN?
While the cost of DWI representation varies widely in Austin, an experienced, quality DWI defense can cost up to several thousand dollars. DWI representation fees consider the severity of potential consequences as well as the skill and expertise required for an effective defense. While good lawyers may be expensive, many attorneys will work with clients on fee payment structures. Learn more.
- How much does it cost to get a DWI expunged in Austin? A DWI expunction can cost up to approximately $5,000 in Austin. Fees vary widely, however, and can be affected by the amount of cases and severity of offenses sought to be expunged. Learn more.
TREY PORTER NAMED BEST LAWYER IN DWI DEFENSE
Trey Porter is a dynamic advocate, nationally recognized for his work in DWI Defense. He has been voted by his peers as a best lawyer in the field of Criminal and DWI Defense every year since 2015. Recognized by SuperLawyers, Mr. Porter has also been distinguished as a Top 40 Under 40 Criminal Defense Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association. Mr. Porter holds a Superb rating from AVVO, where attorneys are rated based on skillful litigation, client satisfaction, peer endorsements, and positive results. Learn more.
Glowing Client Reviews
Trey is the man! I hired him because I had overheard a county court judge mentioning how awesome of an attorney he is, so if an endorsement from a judge won’t convince you then I’m not sure what will. I sure do hope I never find myself in a pickle ever again but if I do, I would hire Trey in a heartbeat. He’s honest, transparent, doesn’t beat around the bush, and will work tirelessly so that your clean record stays clean and unblemished. 5 stars, highly recommend!
I recently hired Trey Porter Law to help our teenage daughter with a drug charge. In the state of Texas she was being charged as an adult which carried a much stiffer penalty. Trey is very responsive, helpful, knowledgeable and is always available to answer any questions or concerns via phone, text or email. He was able to negotiate on her behalf so it was a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend Trey Porter Law.
Trey really helped me out. He was straight forward and professional, and really helped me in my case. I thought i was going to lose my job, but trey did everything in his power to help me keep my way of life, and still keeps up with me any details on my case.
I really appreciated all he did for me.
Trey is a phenomenal attorney that gets the job done right! He is dedicated to help his clients.
He made himself available and answered all my concerns immediately! I had faith in him and he continued to prove his expertise by helping me. I highly recommend Trey Porter!!
Trey Porter fought for me! I am a nurse and thought my career was over.
Very thankful I got Trey Porter involved. He responds to messages regularly and was very thorough.
He saved my career. Forever grateful!
Mr Porter is the real deal. You get what you pay for these days. I know that from my personal business dealings. Attorney Trey Porter was no different.
He was prompt, professional and poised. I was charged with DWI, and Mr Porter got the charge dismissed. I could not be more pleased or thankful. If you get a DWI, hire the best — hire Trey Porter.
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
WE FIGHT FOR DISMISSAL
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15
Driving facts involved failing to maintain a single lane and speeding. Client refused breath test and forced law enforcement to obtain search warrant for blood. Blood test result was not used after challenge from Defense, and State waived and abandoned charge.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client was a college student, worried about the collateral consequences of an alcohol offense. After negotiation and review of the traffic stop, the case was dismissed. Client received no criminal conviction. The charge was later expunged and deleted from client’s record.
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED .15+
Client was involved in minor accident. Client was at fault in accident. A young executive, client was concerned that a criminal conviction for DWI would result in termination. After review of the traffic stop, it was clear the officer lacked probable cause for arrest. State eventually dismissed DWI charge. Client received no criminal conviction.
Client, a military veteran, was facing up to one year in jail. State could not prove intoxication by alcohol, and was prepared to proceed on loss of use by marijuana. After challenging the State to prove that marijuana was ingested at or near time of driving, and that marijuana impaired client’s driving, the State dismissed the case on the day of trial.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Driving facts involved a false claim by police that taillight was out. After challenging the reasonable suspicion for the traffic stop, the State was forced to dismiss the case when video did not match police report. Client has since expunged arrest, and has no criminal record.
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
Client is a public school teacher and faced immediate termination upon conviction. The facts of the case were bad. State was unwilling to budge in negotiation, and matter was set for trial – the last shot at avoiding a conviction and preserving client’s livelihood. State was forced to dismiss on day of trial. Client has no criminal record, and has since expunged the DWI arrest.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, the State is working on your conviction. It’s time to start building your defense.