A person signing a document with a pen on probation.

Category: Misdemeanor Charges

WHAT IS DISCLOSURE OF CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION REGARDING FAMILY VIOLENCE OR VICTIMS OF TRAFFICKING SHELTER CENTER IN TEXAS? The Texas law against disclosure of confidential information regarding family violence or victims of trafficking shelter prohibits disclosing the locations and physical layouts of certain protection centers. What are family violence shelter centers...

WHAT IS HARASSMENT IN TEXAS? The Texas law against harassment prohibits communicating with another in a manner calculated to annoy, alarm, abuse, harass, torment, embarrass, or offend the recipient of the communications. What examples of harassment in Texas? Texas Penal Code Section 42.07 gives eight specific types of conduct prohibited...

WHAT IS INTERFERENCE WITH REQUEST FOR EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE IN TEXAS? The Texas law against interference with a request for emergency assistance prohibits interfering with another’s ability to call 911, and recklessly breaking, taking, or otherwise rendering unusable another’s method to contact 9-1-1. WHAT IS THE INTERFERENCE WITH REQUEST FOR EMERGENCY...

Let's Chat, Consult, and Conquer Together!

WHAT IS FALSE ALARM OR REPORT IN TEXAS? The Texas law against false alarm or report prohibits reporting emergencies a person knows to be false that would place others in fear, cause an emergency response, or cause people to evacuate a building, aircraft, or other place or mode of transportation....

WHAT IS FUNERAL DISRUPTION IN TEXAS? The Texas law against funeral disruption prohibits picketing within 1,000 feet of a facility or cemetery used for a funeral service three hours before and after the service begins and ends. What is picketing? Texas Penal Code Section 42.055 defines “picketing” as “standing, sitting,...

WHAT IS DISRUPTING MEETING OR PROCESSION IN TEXAS? The Texas law against disrupting a meeting or procession prohibits obstructing or interfering with a meeting, procession, or gathering by physical actions or verbal utterances in violation of normal customs and rules of governance of a meeting. WHAT IS THE DISRUPTING MEETING...

Your Legal Roadmap: Answering Your Questions

Question 1

What is Theft in Texas?

The Texas law against theft prohibits unlawfully appropriating property with intent to deprive the owner of the property. Theft in Texas describes several crimes beyond just stealing another’s property, including receiving stolen property, shoplifting, embezzlement, theft by false pretext, extortion, receiving or concealing embezzled property, and issuing a worthless check. Read more.
Question 2

What are the Texas Criminal Mischief laws?

The Texas law against criminal mischief prohibits intentionally or knowingly, without effective consent: (1) damaging or destroying another’s property; (2) tampering with property and causing pecuniary loss or substantial inconvenience; or (3) marking, painting, drawing on, or otherwise “tagging” another’s property. Read more.
Question 3

What is the punishment for Public Intoxication?

Public intoxication is ordinarily a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500. If a person is ticketed at least twice in two years for public intoxication, disorderly conduct, or a combination thereof, and commits either of those offenses a third time within the two-year period, the penalties are increased to a maximum fine of $2,000, and up to 180 days in jail. Read more.
Question 4

Can you go to jail for shoplifting in Texas?

The penalty class for a theft charge depends on the character and value of the appropriated property, and whether the person has prior theft convictions. Texas law further enhances theft penalties based on the person’s or theft victim’s status. Read more.
Question 5

Is Possession of Marijuana a misdemeanor?

The penalty classification for possession of marihuana depends on the amount: Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in county jail, if the amount is two ounces or less; Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in county jail, if the amount is four ounces or less but more than two ounces. Read more.
Question 6

What is Disorderly Conduct in Texas?

Texas law prohibiting disorderly conduct criminalizes behavior that breaches the peace. Such behavior includes vulgar language, offensive gestures, creating harmful chemical odors, loud noise, fighting, nudity, or displaying or discharging a firearm. While most of the conduct prohibited by the disorderly conduct statute is legal in the privacy of one’s home, it is illegal in public when it incites a breach of the peace or is otherwise offensive. Read more.

What our clients think about us

Unlock the Perks of Choosing Us!


a free consultation

Contact Trey Porter Today

The stakes are high. Criminal charges can have devastating, lifelong consequences. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Porter will answer questions surrounding your legal matter, and discuss and identify potential defenses.
Contact Trey Porter Today
Request a free consultation
Legal Insights Unveiled:
Your Path to Clarity

Results matter when life and livelihood are on the line. DWI arrests are warrantless arrests, and the State is legally bound to a burden of proving the charge beyond all reasonable doubt.

© 2024 Trey Porter | All Rights Reserved